We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks at the bar with my son and his friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R&R Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
R&R Grill
137 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
(919) 240-4411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 251 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Henderson and Columbia
Transit: CHAPEL HILL TRANSIT - Lines A, CW, G, N, NS, NU, T: N Columbia at Rosemary St. Lines CL, D, F, U, RU: E Franklin St at Coffee Shop. Line HS: E Franklin at Varsity Theater. Line J: West Franklin at University Baptist.
Description: R&R Grill - everything a casual American grill should be. The local father and son ownership of Rob and Ross encourage you to join them for great food and service.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Drinks at the bar with my son and his friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

good service; greta snacks; good selection on tap and great atmosphere for watching a game

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Topo's less exciting mini-me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

R&R is just fine--food is fine, service is so-so, atmosphere is par for Franklin Street. But they might have at least attempted to go a different route than Top of the Hill, which is a stone's throw away with a slightly better menu, better table service, and a far better view/patio/atmosphere.
When we walked in, we were blown away by how similar it is to Topo, from the outside table tops to the uniforms to the patio layout. But the fact is, it just doesn't measure up--literally. The half-story view is of a parking lot and homeless shelter!
Should have tried something completely different and saved itself the obvious comparisons to its predecessor.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Restaurant during the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Don't go late at night unless you are a student - but earlier in the evening and during the day it's a really nice restaurant - studenty feel to it - but it brings you into the zone

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belhaven, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stopped in for appetizers and wine . . . delicious and very appropriate wine suggestions. Appetizers were delicious. They offer a humus and pita bread appetizer . . . . they bring out humus and various fresh additives such as olives, peppers, almonds, greens, etc . . .you mix your own to taste! The shrimp was delicious as well as the zuchinni and edamane dishes. Will go back again. Strongly recommend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great gameday spot in downtown Chapel Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This is a great spot to get food and relax pregame or postgame that is conveniently located. The food variety is good if you are looking for either a sandwich/burger or if you want a regular meal. Excellent beverage selection and spacious. We found this in 2009 when looking for a place to eat with our family, which included two young children. We wanted to go somewhere within walking distance to the football game for the kids without tightly crammed tables. There are multiple TVs in the indoor area and outdoor patio, so you can watch other games. We have returned several times and it has been more crowded as word has spread, but the quality has remained good and it is a good value. I have had the salmon, a hamburger and a steak there and would not hesitate to recommend any of these.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R&R Grill also viewed

 

Been to R&R Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R&R Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.