We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool funky hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added Aloft Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool funky hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is moderately priced but worth every penny. The rooms are refreshingly sparsely furnished but include all the extras including awesome Bliss products. The rooms are very clean and the beds extremely comfortable. There is a nice selection of restaurants within walking distance and some nice small dress shops too. Check in and out very efficient. $8 charge per car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    85
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
91
67
23
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for my first anniversary. The hotel is decorated modern. There is a pool table in the lobby along with a small bar. There is lobby snack bar where you can get sandwiches and drinks. No restaurant in hotel but there are several within walking distance. Also have a very small indoor pool and gym. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel tries too hard to be cool. The lobby area is basically a bar. Very noisy due to lack of carpeting and other soft surfaces. Rooms are tiny and not designed for comfort. The only chair in the room is a desk chair. There is no dresser or any drawer space for your cloths. Has a very small space to hang a couple of items. Bed was so-so for comfort; if you don't like feather pillows, you had better bring your own. Very small ironing board stored in the headboard of the bed. The best thing about the room is the window shades; they do an excellent job of blocking out the light.

The staff was not very impressive. My admin had made the reservation using our corporate card. The person at the front desk gave me a hard time because my name was different than the name on the card used to make the reservation. He acted like he was doing me a favor to let me check in even though I had the printed confirmation.

There are plenty of other options for hotels in the Chapel Hill, NC area. Unless you want to "experience" Aloft for yourself, I recommend another choice

Room Tip: My room had one king bed. Rooms with two doubles may be laid out differently. If you're intere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Sean M,

We're sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and appreciate you sharing this feedback. Our hotel's style is unique and is designed to provide comfortable and functional spaces for guests to work, play, and relax. We're sorry to hear that this was not what you experienced. We're also disappointed that our staff did not meet your expectations - service is a top priority for us and we work hard to make our guests feel at home.

Once again, thanks for sharing your thoughts on how we can improve. We see feedback as a gift and take all comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first Aloft experience, second actually, given the scouting trip we did before we picked it. You have to understand the concept of the connected business traveller hotel, and for its price point and hip style, it just worked great for what we wanted. Even if many of our guests were not from that demographic, the trendy style worked.

This is excellent rating is within the class of hotel...this cannot compete with full service hotel in Hong Kong, Abu Dhabi, or even Chapel Hill, but that was not what we were looking for. We looked at Marriot Courtyard, really nice, Hampton Inn, etc. Wanted to keep the room price before tax in the $100 - 120 range. Did not want to go Sleep Inn or Econo Lodge, nor did we want to go Carolina Inn.

This hotel was used as a base of operations for out of town wedding guests. The actual wedding venue was about 40 minutes away, but people from around the country came in. The rooms were all the same, either a double queen or king, with lots of nice Aloft touches. Prices were all the same and no one got their feelings hurt because they got shunted off to an inferior or superior room. The lobby was great. The physical lobby set up meant that it was hard to miss anyone, and it was a great gathering place for breakfast, meeting for lunch or closing out the evening, but three nights in a row at the great bar took its toll...but was lots of fun.

The staff was exceedingly hospitable, from the group reservations to front desk to bar tenders and cleaning staff.

There was no restaurant, no room service, but 24 hour snacks including (sandwiches and healthy snacks like fruit cups, yogurt and fruit cups, etc) and drinks were available. Breakfast was self serve buffet with a kitchen where made to order eggs, bacon, sausage, etc were available. Valet parking and self parking available, luggage in Aloft style was strictly self service, airport luggage cart style, but the staff would have helped even if it was not part of their job.

We got a better or equal group rate from the Marriot Courtyard (which was way better than any Courtyard we have ever stayed in, more like a regular Marriott hotel), but we liked the intimacy of the Aloft setting, and as I said it worked out great.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same footprint, either double queen or single king. Double queen rooms are ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Chas2U,

Thanks for the kind words - we're thrilled to hear that Aloft was the right fit for your group. It sounds like we were just what you were looking for, and we're glad you found us!

So happy to hear that each member of our staff took good care of you and made you feel welcome. This is a top priority for us. We're also glad you enjoyed our rooms, W XYZ bar, and Re:fuel grab-n-go eatery.

We appreciate your comments and hope you'll come back and see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because my dad was having surgery at UNC hospital. The hotel is really close to the hospital, the room was clean, the front desk guys were GREAT! We were able to use the valet services on the weekend and the shuttle to the hospital during the week. They have a laundry room that came in handy since we were here longer then expected. There is a shopping area by the hotes with restaurants and the Italian one gives a 20% discount to hotel guest. The employees here made our time here easier, they even asked how dad was doing each day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi McCoyfamily,

Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback with us. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel convenient, clean and welcoming. And we're also glad that our valet, shuttle and laundry services helped make your time here more convenient.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for letting us know how we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Good
Nice TV
Interface unit to connect a PC or tablet, etc to the TV via HDMI, VGA, etc. Sound too.
Nice shower.
Nice fitness center with treadmills, elliptical, and bicycle machine. Had a nice looking weight machine, but I didn’t have time to try it out. Had a large selection of dumbbells.
Nice room safe

Bad
The modern layout of the room is not very functional, especially for two people.
There is no place to hang a towel near the sink, so you’re stuck cluttering the little bit of counter space with a towel and there is little space to place toiletries. The other spot that could be convenient for placing some toiletries is filled with the coffee maker and coffee items.
The very small closet is designed such that clothing hangs parallel to the back wall of the closet. This means only front hanging item is easy to access, the others are behind.
To save space, the bathroom door separating sink from tub/shower is sliding panel with a mirror. It works but it is heavy and less convenient to move than a regular door, but there is no room for regular door.
In our room the frameless glass shower door did not seal well at the bottom of the door. As such, much water leaked, soaking the bath mat. A longer shower would have exceeded the capacity of the bath mat, puddling the floor. I have a frameless shower door at home and know if properly fitted door seals are installed, the leaking would not be an issue.
Not unique to Aloft, the bed had a comforter and sheet, but no blanket. Comforters feel nice for a minute or two, and then they are too hot, unless you cool the room to 60 degrees. I don’t understand why so many hotels don’t provide blankets.
The Air Conditioning unit blew directly on the bed. When it kicked on, I had to pull up the comfortable. When A/C turned off, had to strip of the comforter.
Like many hotel rooms, the A/C unit was obnoxiously loud for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My adult sisters and I spent a weekend in Chapel Hill. The Aloft hotel was perfect for us. We had a room on the 6th (top) floor with a wall of windows overlooking the golf course. The room was large enough for the 3 of us - and well designed, with 2 beds, a couch and desk space. The room also had a safe, a coffeemaker and refrigerator.

These are the things we really like about the Aloft:
1. The lobby - it was bright with cool furnishings and lighting, a pool table and a bar that opened in the evenings. It had computers and a printer for guests' use. There was a breakfast area with fruit and snacks, a microwave, and a cook available for hot breakfasts in the morning. The food and snacks were reasonably priced. We liked the convenience and that there was a variety of choices.
2. The elevator floors - blue and pressure sensitive. The pattern changed as you stepped on it.
3. Exercise room and pool - we didn't use them much, but it was great to have them available.
4. The bathroom area - long shelf with sink separate from toilet and shower. Great shower pressure. Nice design with pocket door.
5. Good use of space.
6. Dog friendly - several guests had dogs and commented that there was no extra charge for them to stay here.

There were only a few things that could have been improved:
1. Bathroom lighting: while there was adequate light, it would have been nice to have a night light setting in the bathroom area. If you left the bathroom light on, it would shine in to the bedroom through glass partitions between the rooms.
2. No drawers: although there was an area for hanging clothes and some open shelving in the bathroom area, we would have liked some drawers in any of the furniture to store our clothes.
3. Room snafu: when our room was not cleaned after day 1, we discovered that it was because the front desk did not have us registered correctly. In fact, they didn't have anyone listed in our room and asked us to identify ourselves. When we came down to the lobby, they recognized us from checking in the day before and apologized.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the hotel overlooking the golf course have a whole wall of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi baileyfirestone,

Thanks for choosing Aloft to host your sister's weekend! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the detailed feedback on what you enjoyed, and what can be improved. We see feedback as a gift, and truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.