We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much cuter and more fun than a normal hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Aloft Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much cuter and more fun than a normal hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We enjoyed the modern, colorful design of this Aloft. Our room was spacious, and the bathroom size was incredible. We were placed in a handicap room, but other rooms we peered in when passing the cleaning cart looked spacious as well. The lobby was a relaxing spot to hang out, and included a complimentary pool table to help pass time as we took advantage of the late night drink specials. The pool and gym were bright, colorful, and clean. Overall, highly enjoyed our stay here. The only dislike I had was the modern sinks work well when turned on fully but tend to dribble all over the counter if you just want a light flow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi robin01virginia,

So happy to hear you enjoyed the unique Aloft Hotels style and enjoyed your stay here with us in Chapel Hill! It sounds like you took full advantage of our fun amenities and had a nice time socializing in our public spaces, which we love to hear.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    90
    33
    9
    12
See reviews for
95
67
24
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We enjpyed the modern, interesting environment. Great bar, staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Room was generous because of the brilliant layout. Breakfast concept was fresh, appealing, affordable Valet parking was a nice option and loved the luggage carts which looked like supermarket carts and moved very easily. We'll look for alofts in other cities.

Room Tip: all quiet, similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi luvzwords,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent Aloft stay! We're glad you found our staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed our smart, efficient room design and our grab-n-go breakfast offering.

Please come see us again, and look for Aloft Hotels in other destinations you're travelling to. We have over 60 locations and our hotels continue to pop up in more great destinations across the globe. Check out the "areas" page of our website to learn more about our locations: http://www.starwoodhotels.com/alofthotels/directory/hotels/all/list.html
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon, nj
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived at the Aloft Hotel in preparation for a wedding being held in Chapel Hill. Our accommodations were available early so we were fortunately able to move right in. The hotel has a European atmosphere, the staff caring and knowledgeable. The valet parking attendants were efficient and we could not have enjoyed our stay more. Thanks again to the Aloft Chapel Hill for making our wedding weekend memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi seniortraveller324,

Thanks so much for your recent stay, and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We're thrilled you chose Aloft for this wedding weekend, and that we were able to exceed your expectations while staying with us.

We're happy to have helped to make your weekend memorable, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the stay, very friendly staff and a great bar. Great value, would recommend it to friends. The rooms are pretty modern so some in our group felt a bit cold but we liked the decor. Breakfast was a bit institutional, sort of a food court feel but several dining choices nearby made it a non issue.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Tmazzz,

Thank you for the kind words and for your recommendation. We're happy you found our hotel to be a great value and liked our modern style. Our staff strives to exceed expectations so we're glad you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Bay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were here for a wedding and stayed several nights. The rooms were very modern, good size and efficient, almost European feeling but not as small. Bedding was good but the pillows are poly which drives me nuts, but it's not home is it. The hotel staff were really very good and glad that you were there. The lobby area is a little small with lot going on in it. The bar is nice but its in the lobby so when busy it's hard to get to the elevators. The food was good, but watch out on weekends there is no coffee or breakfast available until 7am. If your a late riser no problem. Overall a good value and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a most decent place to stay while visiting family in the area. Its new, so the accomodations are accordingly fresh in good shape. Otherwise it is fairly bare bones and simple. Rooms are small. Snack items are for purchase, not complimentary, but reasonabley priced. Since I was not there for the hotel experience, it didnt matter. Gym is small. Pool is small and well utilized by the many children there with families. I would recommend this as a very decent place to stay when in the area for business during the week, or for UNC sporting events.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My fiance' and I have very bad luck when it comes to selecting hotels so we expected the same bad luck going into this hotel since we had never stayed there before. We were so happy when we opened the door! The room was large and very clean and made us smile. We even enjoyed the pretty large trees that grace the back yard. It is a contemporary looking hotel so expect some fun decore and cool hallway theme. The front desk folks were very pleasant. There is valet parking with helpful attendants. There is pleanty of food to grab for the room to snack on. I grabbed the best apple that I ever ate in my 55 years! We ate dinner at a local restaurant across the parking lot from the hotel- Tobacco Road. It is a sports bar so don't be taken aback if that is not what you like....the food is great and priced very reasonably. We ate at Tobacco Road twice.

Room Tip: We liked the room in the back- very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi JimandCathy115,

We're so happy to hear you and your fiancée enjoyed your recent stay here at Aloft Chapel Hill. Thanks for taking the time to share these great comments on our hotel, service, location...and apples! :)

Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.