We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Aloft Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Aloft hotel! We were travelling with our cat after she had eye surgery and needed a pet friendly hotel that didn't gouge us for pet fees. Aloft was a convenient location, helpful & wonderful staff, and great layout for our family. The room was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed the modern layout. It was great to have such an open floor plan. The staff were very helpful from the valets to the front desk, they were wonderful. It was very convenient for breakfast and coffee, which was delicious. We are looking to our next visit at this great hotel!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in: one at the end of the hall and one in the middle of the hall were very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    108
    37
    12
    13
See reviews for
107
71
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm a very frequent, experienced traveler and try to gear reviews to helping folks know what to expect & make a good choice. I'll try, but being out of a somewhat different mold, this hotel may be hard to review, and I don't know yet whether this review will be more positive or negative. The hotel sits right on a busy street, so street side gets a lot of traffic noise, which includes cycles, loud bass in cars, and cars with loud engine noise (being a college town, the 'look at me' crowd is active). The exterior looks like a cross between a college dorm & prison. Parking is in a garage that is quite a hike, or by valet (complimentary), so you won't have easy access to your car. The theme is contemporary, and as one reviewer put it perfectly, 'minimalistic'. Lobby is more like a meeting place, complete with college kids lounging & playing pool, bar goers, and an aray of would-be-intellectuals playing the role so often seen in the academic bubble (with 345 college credits, I know the type). The lounge is a zoo with music so loud I had to take my cell phone outside. It has 3 TV's above the bar tuned to different channels with NO sound - good luck. The floor is just concrete coated with a clear coat (polyurethane?) A plague claims how 'green' the hotel is, but I suspect man's footprint is similar to other hotels (& the lounge & breakfast area uses plastico & disposable everything). However, it makes the academics feel good. Well, at least no trees were cut for furniture in the rooms - there is none. Just 2 formica shelves (one desk-like) between a padded bench, and a shelf-like night table (all flakeboard, which come from sawdust). The rooms are small, stark, and very minimalistic, although pleasant & modern. The beds (remember the beds? The most important thing, yet rarely mentioned by reviewers) are actually quite comfortable - not quite Hilton quality, but 2 cuts above the likes of a Holiday Inn Express. Lighting is horrible. One switch for the bathroom half of the room, which is VERY bright and very open to flood the rest of the room with blinding light in the middle of the night - bad design. There is no closet, but a very small closet like area behind a curtain in the bath half. There is a shower - no tub. A SMALL shelf has a tea bag size coffee maker - you get one cup of each. No curtains, but the window shades are light occlusive. With a good bed, it's perfect for an overnight where you will be out most of the time. Hotels in Chapel Hill are not known for bargain prices & this was marginally over-priced, even for the area (at $139). I was happy to get there, had a good night sleep, and very happy to leave. Breakfast was very limited & pricey enough. My son had an egg mcmuffin type sandwich which would make McDonald's seem gourmet-ish, and McD's would be tickeled to get those prices. My waffel & bacon was roughly $7. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Sherburne, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying a the Aloft Chapel Hill for you recent stay in our area and we appreciate your feedback.
The Aloft brand is non-traditional, modern and urban in its look and feel. The hotel is Gold LEEDs certified for its sustainable building construction and operation. The hotel has many "green" programs from recycle containers in rooms and in public areas, uses corn based disposables in our breakfast area, you can opt out of having your room serviced and receive SPG or a food and beverage voucher (saves water from laundering, cleaning supplies, etc), has shower soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers to cut back on disposable waste - just to name some of the active green programs we proudly participate in. The hotel is located in a mixed use development with traditional surface parking as well as a shared parking deck that is about 250 feet (80 steps) from the main entrance of the hotel.
Wxyz Lounge is a lively atmosphere that does often feature live entertainment and offers board games, a pool table and lots of comfortable seating to relax, unwind and mix and mingle in.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on a future trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

To be clear this is probably a 3 1/2 star property but it exceeds expectations for what it is. I had never stayed at an Aloft property, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's clearly not a W but a nice value friendly alternatively. The staff was courteous and the accommodations were very comfortable. For fellow SPG lovers, this is an exceptional point value (3,000 per night).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The concept behind Starwood's new ALoft hotels is to give good value for a better than average hotel room, and this is exactly what they have done. The rooms were more than adequate in size with an open area for the vanity and single sink. There is a sliding door to give privacy to the shower and toilet. The only issue we had was that there is only one light switch for the entire bathroom area and one light switch for the rest of the room. There was no way to have any night light and that was a problem for us. So I suggest you take a night light with you. The shades in the room kept all the light out, a plus, but that made the rooms very dark.

Room Tip: Take a plug-in night light with you. We were on the second floor but heard little or no noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this Hotel. I used my Starwoods points and got a great room rate. That being said, we all thought the rooms were really strange. There is no closet, nor a door to the bathroom area ( it is Open concept) If anyone needed to use the bathroom, the light lit up the entire bedroom area. Towels were really thin and frayed. There is alot of street noise coming from the highway on one side of the hotel. The reception area was really "hipster", thats just the only way I can describe it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Sherburne, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Aloft Chapel Hill- we appreciate your business! The Aloft room design is modern with barn door ssliding style bathroom doors and a hanging closet area- sorry that those design elements did not meet your needs. We do have an additional portable rolling clothes rack on request for more hanging room if needed to accomodate your family. We hope that on a return visit to our area we can once again host you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stripped down hotel, but has everything you need. For a couple or for a stay longer than 1-2 nights, the single king bed room might be too small, but for a single business traveler, it was fine. The space for hanging clothes was very small. Very modern minimalist furnishings. The desk set up was great for business travel, right up against window with a great treetop view, plenty of plugs and light. Rooms were well insulated, I could not hear other guests. Breakfast is not free, but had a lot of choices and low cost. A shuttle will take you by appointment to locations within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. The pool and gym are adequate. Unfortunately, the outdoor patio was so close to the 4 lane road that sitting outside at end of day was too noisy due to traffiic. If you do not have a car, dinner choices are limited to 3 restaurants in business shopping condo complex next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Sherburne, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay- we appreciate your patronage and feedback. The hotel is new and modern in its overall look and feel- we are glad that you enjoyed it. For dining, Chapel Hill is well known for its culinary destinations and within a 5 minute walking distance of the hotel are 8 restaurants and a Fresh Market gourmet grocery store with a deli. Hope you get to explore more of Chapel Hill on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Aloft motel was a breath of fresh air in Chapel Hill. The decor is modern and pleasing. The king size room layout I had was innovative with lots of welcome touches such as USB charging ports, incentives if you don't require daily housekeeping and a cool shower with a smoked glass wall that lets natural light in from the room and outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel
The Siena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel
The Franklin Hotel
#1 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 16 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
1.9 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#10 of 16 in Chapel Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.