We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Save Saved
You added Aloft Chapel Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

To be clear this is probably a 3 1/2 star property but it exceeds expectations for what it is. I had never stayed at an Aloft property, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's clearly not a W but a nice value friendly alternatively. The staff was courteous and the accommodations were very comfortable. For fellow SPG lovers, this is an exceptional point value (3,000 per night).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    85
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
91
67
23
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The concept behind Starwood's new ALoft hotels is to give good value for a better than average hotel room, and this is exactly what they have done. The rooms were more than adequate in size with an open area for the vanity and single sink. There is a sliding door to give privacy to the shower and toilet. The only issue we had was that there is only one light switch for the entire bathroom area and one light switch for the rest of the room. There was no way to have any night light and that was a problem for us. So I suggest you take a night light with you. The shades in the room kept all the light out, a plus, but that made the rooms very dark.

Room Tip: Take a plug-in night light with you. We were on the second floor but heard little or no noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this Hotel. I used my Starwoods points and got a great room rate. That being said, we all thought the rooms were really strange. There is no closet, nor a door to the bathroom area ( it is Open concept) If anyone needed to use the bathroom, the light lit up the entire bedroom area. Towels were really thin and frayed. There is alot of street noise coming from the highway on one side of the hotel. The reception area was really "hipster", thats just the only way I can describe it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Sherburne, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Aloft Chapel Hill- we appreciate your business! The Aloft room design is modern with barn door ssliding style bathroom doors and a hanging closet area- sorry that those design elements did not meet your needs. We do have an additional portable rolling clothes rack on request for more hanging room if needed to accomodate your family. We hope that on a return visit to our area we can once again host you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stripped down hotel, but has everything you need. For a couple or for a stay longer than 1-2 nights, the single king bed room might be too small, but for a single business traveler, it was fine. The space for hanging clothes was very small. Very modern minimalist furnishings. The desk set up was great for business travel, right up against window with a great treetop view, plenty of plugs and light. Rooms were well insulated, I could not hear other guests. Breakfast is not free, but had a lot of choices and low cost. A shuttle will take you by appointment to locations within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. The pool and gym are adequate. Unfortunately, the outdoor patio was so close to the 4 lane road that sitting outside at end of day was too noisy due to traffiic. If you do not have a car, dinner choices are limited to 3 restaurants in business shopping condo complex next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_Sherburne, General Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay- we appreciate your patronage and feedback. The hotel is new and modern in its overall look and feel- we are glad that you enjoyed it. For dining, Chapel Hill is well known for its culinary destinations and within a 5 minute walking distance of the hotel are 8 restaurants and a Fresh Market gourmet grocery store with a deli. Hope you get to explore more of Chapel Hill on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Aloft motel was a breath of fresh air in Chapel Hill. The decor is modern and pleasing. The king size room layout I had was innovative with lots of welcome touches such as USB charging ports, incentives if you don't require daily housekeeping and a cool shower with a smoked glass wall that lets natural light in from the room and outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I love the modern feel of this Hotel. My wife and I stayed there for an event at the University of North Carolina. The modern bathroom is very pretty, and we had excellent service by the staff. We stayed there for 5 days in November 2011

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just did an over-night here while taking a campus tour of UNC. It was very near UNC, but not within walking distance. The building and rooms were so pretty and clean. They do aromatherapy, which you notice the moment you walk into the hotel, so everything, including the elevators, smell fresh. The bar is inviting, and they run specials every night. My 5.00 blackberry martini was yummy. The beds were comfortable, and we had a great nights sleep. There is no restaurant, just little cantina place for snacks and small meals. It is a great place to stay if your intention is to explore Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 South Hamilton Road, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Chapel Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.