We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not get what I paid for” 1 of 5 stars
Review of A Southern Season

A Southern Season
University Mall, Chapel Hill, NC 27514
919.929.7133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Chapel Hill
Type: Department Stores, Specialty Shops, Coffeehouses, Shopping
Attraction details
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Did not get what I paid for”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Was visiting a friend for a girls weekend. I purchased a large can of white chocolate pecans for my husband as I left him home for this trip. Well, we were both disappointed when he opened the can and found not only were they a cheap milk chocolate they were also peanuts, not pecans!
So be aware you may not get what you pay for. This store is not cheap by any means and to get cheap peanuts instead of pecans is a crime. It's too bad I am not close enough to return the product. I contacted them but no response to date.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    7
    1
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fun foodie place with a little bit of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this shop in the yellow pages while looking for a gift shop while in Raleigh recently- and I am glad I did! I decided to make a trip over and check it out. This store has just about every gourmet food item you might be looking for, with an emphasis on Southern specialties. From the tea, coffee, candy, and food shops to the cookware, decorative housewares , and gift baskets there is always something to check out here. They even have a small section of clothing related items and accessories! Well worth the time to check this place out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Unfortunate way to treat excellent chocolates”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This beautiful store with great service and products poorly performed when it came to purchasing chocolates. I knew they carried Neuhaus chocolates and was disgusted by what I saw. Some milk chocolates turned orange, and the dark chocolate (Albert) looked dried and covered with a white coat. These chocolates sell for $60.00 per pound and this store should know better. I am hoping that this unsavory review will force management to look at the way the chocolates are kept and sold. Clearly these items were way past the due date and likely are an health risk to consumers. If you wish to buy anything else then this place is great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A trip here is always a good time. I live a couple of hours away and usually go a couple of times a year. There is so much stuff to see that it would probably help to have a list, but my approach is to just wander through the aisles. The cheese and bread selections are wonderful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cooking Class Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Completely enjoyed the New Orleans cooking class I attended with two friends. Made and ate chicken and sausage gumbo and peach foster for dessert. Definitely something I would do again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Southern Season also viewed

 

Been to A Southern Season? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Southern Season, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.