We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chapel Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast
4421 Manns Chapel Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chapel Hill B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed two nights, and felt very much at home. Relaxing on the porch as the sun set was the perfect way to end each day. The room was immaculate, the breakfast very good, and Oscar is a delightful host. we would definitely come back, and would recommend it to others.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much, I enjoyed meeting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was not a good experience. We were told we had to eat breakfast at 8:45 if we wanted breakfast at all. My omelet was not edible and accompanied by one dry piece of toast. The room had home-made furniture, a very small flat screen TV and no trash can. The bed was comfortable and the room as clean. We had hoped to stay for 3 days but left after only 2 knowing we might be charged for the third night anyway, which we were. We would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Please pray for this couple, they are being consumed by hate. Our Policy applies to ALL our
guests, no exceptions. Please pray for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

With all due respect this place should not be able to call itself a B&B. Extremely low value for a charmless place that meets only the most basic needs. It is a $50 sleeping room at best. No sitting room, no drinking glasses, mediocre dry omelette for breakfast. I've never written a bad review before because
I hate to be unkind but out of respect for fellow travelers I am obliged to say Stay Away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast is a delightful place to stay. Its just in the right place and Oscar is friendly and as far as I can tell its good southern hospitality. The only thing wrong with it is that it does not have a smoking section anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The real charm of the Chapel Hill B&B is its distance from the main part of town; it's close enough that a short 15 minute drive makes the town accessible and convenient but far enough away from the light pollution to see every star on a cloudless night.

Oscar was very welcoming but not suffocatingly so, which can be a concern for many b&b's. He communicates efficiently, even reminding us that we'd be losing an hour during Daylight Savings via a friendly note slipped under our door. Breakfast conversation was excellent and included an option of 8 or 8:45am (or, if you're like us - skipping it to sleep in).

The room was excellent. We stayed in the "Chocolate" room. We enjoyed the roomy King four-post bed and the balcony overlooking the grounds. By far, the highlight was the in-room whirlpool/shower/tub. Oscar encouraged its use and walked us through how to use it (70 gallons!) Make sure you wait until the water fills up past the jets if you're going to turn them on. We appreciated the free wi-fi particularly for planning our days.

In short: Clean, comfortable, and a perfect place for couples looking to explore the Research Triangle area with an option to escape the urban craze.

Thank you, Oscar for a wonderful stay - we both really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Owner was rude to my husband and I , and we felt uncomfortable and unwelcome. Breakfast was not good and tasted as if it were a packaged breakfast. Would not recommend. Place was clean but this did not make up for the poor customer service. Not at all what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
A questionable review five (5) months after of an alleged stay ? Our Policy requires to actively
request direct feedback from our guest to solve or improve any problems so we can serve you
better. By direct feedback we are asking you to be honorable, fair, and respectful; furthermore, we
ask you to contact us with your concerns immediately so we can solve the problem while you are
still at the B&B, we want you to enjoy your stay (posting a hateful review five months later is not the
solution).

Several honorable, loving, and respectful guests have provided us with invaluable feedback, which
made us better, thank you very much. Respectful and honorable behavior promotes respect and
cooperation. Hate has never been a sustainable solution.

Thank you for reading and enjoy your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I went for an early Valentine getaway. It was exactly what we were hoping for. Chapel Hill Bed & Breakfast is a wonderful place with a friendly host, beautiful rooms, wonderfully comfortable beds, and charming scenery. It feels like a home away from home. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much you are very kind. We will continue doing our best to make sure that your next
stay is equal or better. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4421 Manns Chapel Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re on six acres just five miles from UNC and downtown Chapel Hill, NC, conveniently located just ten to fifteen minutes away from fine dining, shopping, entertainment, and medical/business centers. We offer hospitality and refinement for your romantic getaway, retreat, meeting and celebration. We are the perfect choice for the refined and tasteful guest. Every guest suite has been designed with its own distinct charm and is surrounded by beautiful vistas. We have severalfun and romantic Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list