We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chapel Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4421 Manns Chapel Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chapel Hill B&B and Inns
Hyde Park, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast is a delightful place to stay. Its just in the right place and Oscar is friendly and as far as I can tell its good southern hospitality. The only thing wrong with it is that it does not have a smoking section anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The real charm of the Chapel Hill B&B is its distance from the main part of town; it's close enough that a short 15 minute drive makes the town accessible and convenient but far enough away from the light pollution to see every star on a cloudless night.

Oscar was very welcoming but not suffocatingly so, which can be a concern for many b&b's. He communicates efficiently, even reminding us that we'd be losing an hour during Daylight Savings via a friendly note slipped under our door. Breakfast conversation was excellent and included an option of 8 or 8:45am (or, if you're like us - skipping it to sleep in).

The room was excellent. We stayed in the "Chocolate" room. We enjoyed the roomy King four-post bed and the balcony overlooking the grounds. By far, the highlight was the in-room whirlpool/shower/tub. Oscar encouraged its use and walked us through how to use it (70 gallons!) Make sure you wait until the water fills up past the jets if you're going to turn them on. We appreciated the free wi-fi particularly for planning our days.

In short: Clean, comfortable, and a perfect place for couples looking to explore the Research Triangle area with an option to escape the urban craze.

Thank you, Oscar for a wonderful stay - we both really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Owner was rude to my husband and I , and we felt uncomfortable and unwelcome. Breakfast was not good and tasted as if it were a packaged breakfast. Would not recommend. Place was clean but this did not make up for the poor customer service. Not at all what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
A questionable review five (5) months after of an alleged stay ? Our Policy requires to actively
request direct feedback from our guest to solve or improve any problems so we can serve you
better. By direct feedback we are asking you to be honorable, fair, and respectful; furthermore, we
ask you to contact us with your concerns immediately so we can solve the problem while you are
still at the B&B, we want you to enjoy your stay (posting a hateful review five months later is not the
solution).

Several honorable, loving, and respectful guests have provided us with invaluable feedback, which
made us better, thank you very much. Respectful and honorable behavior promotes respect and
cooperation. Hate has never been a sustainable solution.

Thank you for reading and enjoy your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I went for an early Valentine getaway. It was exactly what we were hoping for. Chapel Hill Bed & Breakfast is a wonderful place with a friendly host, beautiful rooms, wonderfully comfortable beds, and charming scenery. It feels like a home away from home. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much you are very kind. We will continue doing our best to make sure that your next
stay is equal or better. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we had a holiday party in CH to attend. We live about 40 mins away. The prices at Fearrington House were out of our price range for this particular evening so we decided to give the CH B&B a try. Our room, the Chardonnay room, was very nice. Had a fireplace which the owner had going when we arrived. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and the bathroom had a jucuzzi tub. The room did not have any special extras that you would expect to see at a B&B like special soaps or lotions.

The breakfast was mediocre at best. The owner serviced us waffles that I think were reheated in a microwave, some sliced bananas and tea/coffee. No specialty items here either like fresh baked breads, etc. We had wished that we had headed out and eaten a nice breakfast locally instead of eating a wilted waffle.

I would recommend this place for people wanting to stay in CH who don't want to pay Fearrington prices and don't want to stay in a hotel. However, do not expect anything special from the owner or the breakfast while you are there. If you are going for a more memorable experience, I would definitely recommend paying the extra money and staying at the Fearrington House.

Room Tip: If staying in winter, go for the Chardonnay room with the fire place. You'll be nice and toasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your compliments, our rooms offer a lot of value for your money. We get a lot of
compliments for our comfortable king size beds, large marble enclosed whirlpools, and tasty
breakfast.

Regarding your unfair comments, which misrepresented the facts, you were disrespectful with other
guests when you ignored their rights and privacy. All our guest are entitled to the same polite and
respectful treatment by other guests regardless who they are. We expect you to be respectful and
polite.

Regarding our breakfast, we cook the food between five to ten minutes before is served, your
waffles were made just before you showed up, so, your statements are incorrect.

Our rates give you great value by providing you with features that others provide for more than twice
of what we charge. You unfairly compared our breakfast with the Fearrington House Inn’s breakfast,
which charges $495 for a room that has the similar features to our Chardonnay room ($150 on the
weekends). Is not possible to compare the breakfast for a $495 room with the breakfast for a $150
room, it is an unfair comparison. We provide a breakfast menu that offers a lot of value, is healthy,
and is very tasty.

As any other humans, we make unintentional mistakes but we are committed to do our best and to
improve on a daily basis. Thank you for reading, enjoy your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've stayed here twice when visiting family in Pittsboro. Oscar has made me feel very at home. He makes a good breakfast, and the rooms are very comfortable and have everything I needed for a few days stay. I hope to visit one time when the weather is nice so I can take advantage of the nice sitting area on the balcony.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much you are very kind. We will continue doing our best to make sure that your next
stay is equal or better. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second stay at the Chapel Hill B&B. Oscar is a wonderful host. The Chardonnay room is lovely! The bed is extremely comfortable and the electric fireplace keeps the room extra toasty. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oem70, Owner at Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much you are very kind. We will continue doing our best to make sure that your next
stay is equal or better. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4421 Manns Chapel Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re on six acres just five miles from UNC and downtown Chapel Hill, NC, conveniently located just ten to fifteen minutes away from fine dining, shopping, entertainment, and medical/business centers. We offer hospitality and refinement for your romantic getaway, retreat, meeting and celebration. We are the perfect choice for the refined and tasteful guest. Every guest suite has been designed with its own distinct charm and is surrounded by beautiful vistas. We have severalfun and romantic Packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill b&b
Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapel Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;