We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Europa Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Chapel Hill
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip on Memorial Day weekend. The check in was fast and the lady gave suggestions for a late dinner and a voucher for a free appetizer. The room was small but the bed was very comfortable and and it was a quiet location. Convenient to UNC where I was shooting an early morning wedding. The morning staff allowed me to get a late check out so that I could shoot the wedding and come back to change later in the afternoon before a long drive home. I really appreciated that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmilby, Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We try to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay. I will make sure all our staff see your comments. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Ted Milby
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    79
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
54
34
22
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice clean room. Staff extremely polite and helpful. Nice outdoor pool with nice lounge chairs and the most comfortable beds! I had a great night sleep.. Exactly what I look for on a hotel. Oh yeah and even a great workout room! I will definitely sty here gain when I come back to the area.

Room Tip: Need to take shuttle to downtown chapel hill but its complimentary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. We take pride in making each guest experience a personalized service. We look forward to serving you soon.

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

In town for a wedding, which meant several guests with the same last name reserved different rooms. We ended up getting the wrong bill- TWICE- for other family members. Our room had NO fan in the bathroom, one towel rack- placed in the shower, one robe to use by two guests, mold stains in shower, and great number of outlets (6), but all were poorly placed and we had to move furniture to access them. Only one side of the bed had a table, so the other person had to use the floor to set water on or plug in their iPhone. The decor was was a nice neutral color scheme and pictures on the walls were pretty. There was a full length mirror on the wall and nice modern lamps. We only had one chair for two people, and the desk was cluttered with the coffee maker, cups and free water. Nice wooden hangers, even for pants. Good bathroom amenities included shampoo/cond/lotion, cottenballs, cottenswabs and shower cap and nail file. No fridge, no newspaper. Beds and pillows were not comfortable. Breakfast was a $9 buffet that only suited non-vegan diets. Room service was HORRIBLE. We ordered after waiting on hold for 20 minutes, then after 45 minutes, they called back to say they didn't have the item we wanted! Our college daughter asked the front desk to shuttle to a mall 2 miles away and was told it only goes to campus. When the adults asked, it was confirmed that the shuttle goes ANYWHERE within 5 miles. That wasn't good service. Overall, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Your feedback has been shared with each department manager. We are providing additional training to our team members so we can improve our services for future.

I hope you give us another when you visit Chapel Hill.

Thank you,

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Attended training at UNC and stayed at the Sheraton. The hotel is off campus with approximately a 10 minute ride to where I was going on campus. I tool the shuttle everyday which was really nice. I scheduled my transportation in advance for every morning and afternoon. Breakfast and a restaurant are on site. Didn't really see anyone eating breakfast although they had a nice breakfast area. However, I did partake in the free Starbuck's coffee in the lobby every morning. The restaurant there was ok. Nothing fancy. I did have the opportunity to attend the Manager's Reception on Wednesday but again, nothing fancy. While not far from grocery, store shopping center and places to eat, the hotel is not in a walkable area with easy access. But again, there shuttle service. They do have a nice gym. Wasn't impressed with the hallways but the rooms were very nicely decorated on the inside. I loved my bed. Nice bedding accessories that may the stay awesome. Staff was friendly and provided assistant. However, my fridge did not seem to operate properly and no lockboxes available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenCory, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your positive feedback. We are in a great spot for easy travel on our complimentary shuttle to anywhere in a five mile radius. Our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed is always a winner with out guests and I am so glad to hear it was for you. We do offer complimentary safety deposit boxes secured in the office at the front desk, next time you come just ask one of our Guest Service Agents. We look forward to your next stay, and if there is anything I can do for your next visit please feel free to reach out to me personally.

Steven Cory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomchrissi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

During our spring break, we took our son down to visit Elon University and the University of North Carolina. We stayed at the Sheraton Chapel Hill during our visit. What a fabulous choice! It was in a perfect location with great amenities and was a spotless hotel. Thank you to the staff for your warm and friendly hospitality. We will definitely be back again when we are in the Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing a 5 star review. We appreciate you taking time to write about your wonderful experience at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. As you mentioned we are perfectly located between UNC, Duke and Elon. Our staff takes pride in making every guest experience a memorable one.

We look forward to your next visit to Chapel Hill.
Thank you,

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was very comfortable and clean. The exercise facility had a great a variety of equipment. Remember to bring your ear-buds because each machine has its own screen & if you want to listen while exercising, you will need those. The breakfast was expensive so we didn't eat there. The hotel was easy to find and see from the road, but it was a little difficult to navigate getting to it. Just watch signs carefully to get on proper road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to serving you soon.

Thank you,

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Middle of the road Sheraton. Staff was adequately friendly. I stayed one night; arriving at 11:30pm and leaving at 8:30am. I wanted a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and a shower, and this hotel satisfied both requirements swimmingly.

As noted by other reviewers, the gym was surprisingly spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitin K, General Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am glad you had a great experience with your recent stay at the Sheraton Chapel Hill. Our team goes an extra mile to make every guest feel special. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Nitin Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Address: One Europa Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel. Our Chapel Hill hotel delivers something unforgettable for everyone from exciting nightlife to thrilling local attractions and tons of outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.