We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Europa Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampstead, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Just another night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This Sheraton is located close to UNC in Chapel Hill, NC. About 6 min from the campus. Older building that has been kept up well. Rooms are neat and clean with good bed and TV (flat screen HD). Bath was small, but who needs a dance floor. Room and bath have beed kept up to date. No wear and tear. No Safe, micdrowave, or Fridge. There is a restaurant at the hotel (didn't use) and a Mc Donalds and Chinese close by. (a short walk). Several shopping areas within a short drive distance. I would say the room rates are on the high side, but it's a "Sheraton". Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the back side away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    100
    34
    17
    3
See reviews for
75
40
29
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very good hotel, about a $45 taxi ride from the RDU airport. The guest rooms are quite standard Sheraton and the overall ambiance is nice. Friendly, helpful staff. Having the Shula's 347 restaurant within the hotel is a good touch and is a recommended stop for dinner.

Room Tip: There is not much to walk to from the hotel, and note that Chapel Hill (Franklin Street) is quite fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was in town on business and was interested to see what the Sheraton was like as I had heard many good things... It did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and attentive to my needs throughout my stay. My room was lovely, I was in the Club Level King Room which had fantastic views looking out over the pool. If you looking for somewhere good to eat, look no further than Shula's 347 Grill which is conveniently attached to the hotel. I opted for the Fillet Steak (medium rare) and it was perfectly cooked! Overall I had a brilliant experience at the Sheraton and would suggest to anyone that if their looking for somewhere to stay in Chapel Hill that they try this place!

Room Tip: I would recommend the Club Level King room as it has great views looking out over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family went to this hotel while we visited our cousin at UNC Chapel Hill. Everything was clean, organized, and an all around great environment. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, Ga
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the outside, this hotel looks shabbier than it is. We understand it has been recently renovated and we enjoyed our 1 nite stay. Conveniently attached to Shula's eatery so we did not have to go outside in the rain for a full service restaurant. Although Happy Hour is advertised in the hotel lobby, the people in the Shula's bar said there is no happy hour for drinks in NC. I advised most people think happy hour is for drinks and I found it misleading advertising, but they did not care. .

Room Tip: The rewards rooms are waaaay at the end of the hallway, so ask for something else if you don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

They did not turn on the heat in the hotel, even though it was mid-October and in the high 30's and low 40's in North Carolina. Even though we pleaded, and the desk said the heat was coming, nothing happened. And, this is the second time we have had a problem with heat or noise from a vent in a room here. Can't imagine returning.

Room Tip: Ask about the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmilby, Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I would very much like an opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail. Most guests are very pleased with our guest rooms and our service levels. In fact we surpassed 99% of Sheratons for guest loyalty last month (September 2012). Guest feedback is very valuable to me; my goal is 100% satisfaction. I hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
Ted Milby
Director of Rooms
(919) 969-2148
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had flown in to NC for a couple of days and decided to try out this Sheraton. The location is good, very easy five minute drive off of I-40. The outside is just plain ugly. Looks like a hotel from the 70's. However, once inside, it is a beautiful hotel with great staff. The main downside is the very small rooms. Barely enough room to move around comfortably but the room did have a nice balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel is also very pet friendly if you are traveling with your dog. I did see at least 4 or 5 well behaved dogs here in the hotel.

The beds and pillows, as usual at Sheratons, are incredibly comfortable!

I ate at the restaurant and the food was Excellent! Quite pricy but well worth it. The restaurant staff were really good up to the point when they were none too discreetly trying to get us to leave. They were trying to close up all around us even though it had not quite reached closing time. I took a full star away from the hotel because of this..... unacceptable.

Overall, a really nice hotel and I would have no problem recommending it. Just beware that the restaurant is not very busy and they want you OUT before closing time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmilby, Manager at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Every member of our staff takes a great deal of pride in excellent customer service. Your feedback means a lot to them. We look forward to having you back soon to earn a full five star rating.
Thank you,
Ted Milby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Address: One Europa Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel. Our Chapel Hill hotel delivers something unforgettable for everyone from exciting nightlife to thrilling local attractions and tons of outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.