We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place - no complaints whatsoever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Europa Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding place - no complaints whatsoever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Based on previous reviews, I was bit concerned about noise. And upon check in, and seeing the generally intoxicated, obnoxious Carolina fans (Saturday after a football game) stumbling around, I got worried fast. The reality was we had a quiet, pleasant, outstanding stay.

For us, the location was exceptional. It allowed us to easily get to Durham, Chapel Hill, and run at The American Tobacco Trail. Add the free shuttle into downtown Chapel Hill, and we had an ideal location for being on the West side of the Triangle.

To win the "five stars" something better needed to happen. It did. Outstanding service, and "yes" to everything we asked was wonderful. We had no wait to shuttle into town or be picked up. They checked us out umbrellas when it rained. Upon my request, they upgraded us to the concierge floor. This meant a fridge full of free water and sodas, and daily breakfast and evening snacks. We really appreciated that when we "guessed" there would still be breakfast (and we guessed wrong) that the attendant went back and found us some food to eat - even after the food had been removed and breakfast was complete.

Finally, kudos to the housekeeping and general management of the place. As previously mentioned, the hotel was a "drunk magnet" for Carolina football fans (heck if I had to cheer for Carolina, I'd stay drunk too - LOL). Yet in our three night stay, the hotel was SPOTLESS! Swimming pool, general areas, hallways, lobby, fitness room, no matter where we went, it seemed like we were the first ones to be there. Many Westin and W hotels should take lessons from the Europa staff, as the cleanliness really made this a very enjoyable stay.

I would highly recommend this property. I had ZERO issues with noise, an aged property, level of service or value.

Room Tip: The shuttle that takes you within 5 miles is very reliable and makes a trip into Chapel Hill a breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    32
    12
    2
See reviews for
62
35
27
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

this 3 1/2 star hotel seems like a 4+ star. room was very spacious and employees extremely helpful. fabulous food (seared tuna) at the restaurant upstairs and room service food same quality. Got a great deal on this hotel room through an on line service. Overall a very good experience and I will try to stay here always when visiting Chapel Hill, NC.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel was really nice, the people that work there are wonderful! The shuttle service to the UNC campus was really a life saver as parking is really expensive. The Aloft place has a shuttle too but theirs does not run on the weekends. The Sheraton shuttle runs all of the time, they will help you unload your bags, and the rooms are clean. The bed was really comfortable. The only thing I wish that I had was a fridge as I was staying there for a week. The Club Lounge was nice and stocked with yummy food for breakfast and dinner free of charge which is worth the extra fee for access to the lounge. Soft drinks, juice, water, and coffee for breakfast and dinner. I would recommend calling the hotel directly to book reservations as there are student discounts for UNC and Duke students, I was not aware of that and paid 108.00 per night when I could have been paying 91.95 per night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We arrived late and left early but were pleased with our short experience. We were on the club floor and our room and bathroom were a very good size. They had recently been renovated and the free club floor continental breakfast was good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and it will be my hotel of choice while visiting the Chapel Hill area. It is clean and comfortable and well equipped for the price, plus it is in a good location, away from the downtown UNC area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison W, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel. I'm glad to hear that we will be your first choice when traveling to the area. If there is anything we can do to assist you further with an upcoming stay, please feel free to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

While traveling with a family member who was a patient in UNC Hospitals, we stayed at The Sheraton for a couple of weeks. The staff was friendly, very personal and helpful. We stayed on the Club Level and the rooms were clean, plenty big (bathrooms were a little small). Not all rooms have refrigerators so ask if this is important to you.. They also have an adjoining restaurant with great food ( a little pricey but the food was good) and wait staff was great. Hotel is in a convenient location, easy off/on Interstate 40 and about 10-15 minutes from the hospital. The Sheraton also has a free local shuttle service.

Room Tip: If for hospital visit - Ask for UNC patient rates or work with hospital and SECU House to get deeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison W, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you so much for your "accommodating beyond expectations" review. We strive to be sure that all guests have the same experience here at our hotel. If you will be traveling back to the hotel in the future, please just let us know how we can assist you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here on business for 1 night. The best description I can think of is good, but unremarkable. If you are staying for a short trip on business or visiting friends/family, it works out fine, just don't expect to be overly impressed. While the renovated public areas look very nice and are well done, they have made the lobby and social area too large, spread out, and unexciting. Having the fitness center bordering the lobby with only glass walls in between is a little strange, but the fitness center was well kept and modern. Service was average and room was average. All in, it was a Sheraton, which has come to mean very predictable, not real exciting, but not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel

Address: One Europa Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel. Our Chapel Hill hotel delivers something unforgettable for everyone from exciting nightlife to thrilling local attractions and tons of outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.