We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“found by accident” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterway Inn

Waterway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterway Inn
Save
You added Waterway Inn to your Saves list
160 Cedar Point Blvd., Cedar Point, NC 28584   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cedar Point B&B and Inns
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“found by accident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

we were looking for the best western silver creek inn as we had already called ahead and booked a room but before we got there we drove by the waterway Inn it was right on the water freshly painted nice rooms beautiful sunrise fair pricing and wonderful friendly mom & pop type owners ... my kind of place ... needless to say we canceled our room at the best western and couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: we had the room right on the end with a water view it was very small but we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you are going to be on The Crystal Coast this is the only place to stay. Dave and Kay are incredible! We have been coming here for years and they treat everyone like family.The rooms are nicely decorated and have great views. Be sure to ask Dave about the "fake snake incident" with my son.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a wonderful view of the waterway from upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Dave and Kay are great. My husband and I went for the weekend to do some fishing on the Bogue Inlet Pier, but ended up fishing right there at the hotel. The rooms are small but clean. We will be back - thanks Dave for making it such a fun trip.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a window that looks right out onto the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The ONLY negative thing I can say is that we did not stay longer! After an extended road trip and many other overnight stops along the way, we found the Waterway Inn to be a wonderful surprise! The room was cute and clean, but the grounds really sold us on this place! We sat outside on the well manicured lawn under the tables and umbrellas and just enjoyed visiting with other guest in the serene environment by the water. Occasional boats, jet skis and kayaks would pass by and wave, but it was not too busy to be distracting. Sitting on the boat dock watching the sun go down at night was my absolute favorite place to be!

The owners were fabulous to deal with! Dave was more than accommodating of our late (MUCH later than expected) arrival. He provided us with town maps, directions, and places to eat (Yana's Restaurant - if peaches are in season when you visit you MUST try their peach fritters!)

Safety is always a priority for my family when traveling, and we never once felt uneasy no matter the time or location on this property.

We had only booked a couple nights as a "passing through" kinda thing, but we quickly wished that we had made that place our actual destination rather than on the way. We will definitely be returning even though it is a long way from Texas! We didn't have time to try out the kayaks right there on the property, but it's on the list for the next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Dave was a most accommodating and friendly host during our stay at their motel. They are updating the facilities, even though we found the room to be very clean and comfortable. There is a nice lawn for watching boats traveling the inland waterway and sunset.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We flew in from AZ a short time ago to visit family. We were looking for a place to relax and put all our worries to the side. We found that and more with Dave and Kay going above and beyond to ensure we were in great shape at every turn! My wife had found Waterway on the net and since we were reserving for us as well as others, I had a few questions; asking about everything from how is the AC, to what's biting, Dave was on top of things having an answer for everything (and then some). Both Dave and Kay take a vested interest in providing you and your family with a outstanding stay. I'm not in the habit of writing reviews; in fact, this may be the first one I've done. So, the key take-away is if your looking for outstanding accommodations with a lot of southern hospitality, stay here! You won't get it at a chain. When we visit again, we won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and next to the inlet where you can relax in the evenings on the grass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent this past weekend at the Waterway Inn after reading the awesome reviews on TripAdvisor. I have to say everything I read is true! The first night I slept for 11 hours (a record for me), the bed was so comfortable! The suite was so clean we hated to walk in after being out on the boat and beach all day! The beautiful waterfront view was breath taking! Dave and Kay were the host and hostess with the mostest! We will be returning soon!

Room Tip: Suite was roomy and private porch with an awesome view of the ICW on both sides of the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterway Inn

Address: 160 Cedar Point Blvd., Cedar Point, NC 28584
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Cedar Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Point
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swansboro's only waterfront accommodations, the Waterway Inn offers a 90-foot fishing pier, 9 boat slips, and fabulous views of the Intracoastal Waterway.Just 5 minutes from Emerald Isle, guests enjoy days on the beach, world-class charter fishing, kayaking, recreational boating, fine dining and all the Crystal Coast of North Carolina has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.