We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently delicious meals ! We Always eat there when in Cashiers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage

The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage
905 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717
828-743-7614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious meals ! We Always eat there when in Cashiers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant in Cashiers. We eat there every time we go to Cashiers. The service is great and the food is delicious. The pork tender was great and the sweet potato sides were a perfect match. Trout, ribeye and fried anything is always a sure bet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    28
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been to the Orchard numerous times…it is one of our favorites!
The food is consistently delicious…love their fried green tomatoes as well as their Orchard chicken…fresh, delicious flavors.
Good service, wine…always packed. We will be back..must have reservations...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gibson, Ms
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleased with Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently had dinner here and were very pleased with the service and food. There was a large party in the same room with us who were somewhat loud, but this did not detract from our experience. We started with the Fried Green Tomatoes. Excellent. Of our party of seven, we had the Trout Almondine, Continental Divide Trout (with crabmeat stuffing) Shrimp and Grits, Chicken and Duck. Each of us was very pleased with our food. Portions were large. Our service was very good. By the time we left there were not many people in the restaurant, but we did not feel pressed to leave. Prices were reasonable. We will definitely return to this restaurant when we are in the area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Upon entering we could tell it was very loud for the number of diners. Our server was...pitiful. I could swear the mashed potatoes were instant. The fish was bland and the almond topping burned. The vegetables were overcooked and...floppy. A poor choice on our part considering the number of truly good restaurants in the area. It makes me a little nervous to use Tripadvisor after this restaurant received a #1rating.
With options such as Cornucopia, The Gamekeepers Tavern and Mica's nearby, we will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad B, Owner at The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
TLF123 from Cincinnati:

First and foremost, we are truly sorry you were apparently not satisfied during your visit to The Orchard. As most of our guests have a positive experience, yours seems to be an anomaly.

Even with having at least one owner-operator on the premises at all times, we are having difficulty pinpointing your visit. We only wish we could have had the opportunity to correct any errors when you were here.

It is our goal to consistently provide the best food and service possible, in a pleasant dining atmosphere. If there was error in preparation that led to your dislike in the taste of our food, or a lacking in service, we sincerely apologize and will review your comments with our staff.

In regards to your thoughts about our mashed potatoes (or any of our menu offerings), they are far from being instant. Our local produce purveyors who deliver 50 pound bags of potatoes can attest to that!

Thank you for your comments. We will use them only to improve our operation for future dining experiences. We hope you will consider visiting us again and allow us to prove our merit.

Chad Boswell
The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottmantherapist
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always consistent and excellent food/service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have never been disappointed by either the service or food in this charming restaurant. Great menu options and generous portions. Love the Orchard Chicken and my husband loves the lamb. You won't be disappointed but be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.