We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage

The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage
905 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717
828-743-7614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hickory
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recently celebrated my son's graduation at The Orchard. We had had made effortless reservations prior and were immediately seated on arrival. Atmosphere is nice and you could dress up or down depending on the occasion. Staff was friendly and prompt. Extensive menu.
All our dishes (group of 8) came out together and smoking hot. We had a great meal. Prices are on the high side. Our dining experience was enjoyed by all and hopefully we can find a reason to come back in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    28
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We've been hearing about Orchard for years but only recently had dinner there. It was worth the wait. Fantastic! Food, wine, service all excellent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I dined at the Orchardon a Friday evening. We were seated promptly and orders taken. Liked the fact that the, "Mixologist" came out and greeted us. The drinks were well done.
The orders were brought in a well timed maner. And each dish was well done. I had swordfish and my wife had a scallop dish. Mine was very good. Hers was remarkable. We shared a wonderful warm brownie and ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We ended up at the Orchard with another couple on a Saturday night for dinner. Just a delicious meal. The lamb was unbelievably good, all entrees were wonderful. In a small room at a corner table so easy to hear everyone at the table. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Moonshine?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On our mother/daughters vacation, we had a wonderful time at the Orchard in Cashiers, NC. Daughter # 1 had delicious salmon while daughter # 2 [also known as the younger one] had delicious duck. Mom opted for a huge Caesar. The restaurant is in an old house and while not overlooking the mountains, it has a lovely back yard with huge weeping cherry trees [ I think that's the kind of tree]. Our server was great, the atmosphere was cozy and quiet. The Orchard was one of only a few restaurants open in April.

The moonshine refers to a drink that I heard the mixologist talking about with another group of diners. He had several interesting sounding drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.