We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage

The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage
905 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717
828-743-7614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Cashiers
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cornelius, N.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent creative menu at a reasonable price in an expensive mtn. resort area.
Also a lovely setting of a renovated house & very attractive grounds.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    26
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not quite up to what I had expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Food was good but not spectacular by any stretch. Crab bisque was just flat. Service was OK but I thought a little bit too pushy. Dont get me wrong. The place itself is charming and the food was not bad in any sense. But in these little boutique restaurants in a town like this I really did expect more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamassee, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We celebrated our 39th anniversary with dinner here. The wait staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. We sat on the screen porch and enjoyed the flower garden. I ordered the fried trout and my wife had the coconut breaded shrimp. Both meals were outstanding! My wife, the shrimpologist said the shrimp meal was the best. Wine was pricey but hey it's our anniversary. The chocolate brownie topped with rich vanilla ice cream, complemented with decaf coffee made for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Food should have been much better for the prices.
Wines were way over priced.
Will probably not fo back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a lovely evening at The Orchard Restaurant last week. We were visiting friends in the North Carolina mountains and wanted to have a relaxing meal. The Orchard provided everything that we expected and more. We had a slight problem getting a reservation on a Thursday evening so plan ahead since it is a very popular place. The staff was very helpful. We ate on the screened in porch which was very comfortable. Olga directed us to a very nice bottle of Zinfandel (they only serve wine and beer) and we started with a goat cheese appetizer that was was more of an ante pasta and was delicious. Everyone raved about each delight that included mussels, trout and ravioli. I do not think you could go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchard Restaurant & Guest Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.