We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Cashiers Gem with Outstanding Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randevu

Randevu
18 Chestnut Sq, Hwy 64, Cashiers, NC 28717
828-743-0190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Cashiers
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Open 7 days a weekCall for hours and reservations
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“A New Cashiers Gem with Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were three friends seeking a nice environment with good food on a night when we did not want to buck a crowd .. Randevu was a pure delight. One can enjoy fine dining or casual fare at the same table with reasonable prices-even on the alcoholic beverages. Simple elegant atmosphere with both inside and outside alternatives and good views everywhere.. We had a chance to meet one of the owners and these people are working very hard to bring this excellent restaurant to Cashiers. Don't miss it. Kids welcome too and parking was easy for us. Great service and an overall home run.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We thought the dinner and service was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came here for dinner while visiting Cashiers. I ate the pork chop and thought it was very good. My wife and another in our party ate the trout and thought it was ok. Our fourth ate the halibut and thought it was ok. We enjoyed our visit, but do not believe the food or service was special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mountain Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went for dinner the other night with another couple and it did not take long before we were all saying we would be back.

I hesitate to mention that they do have an early bird till seven o'clock. I got the prime rib, my husband the tilapia. One person ordered the penne, pesto. Salad and wonderful bread included. All terrific meals in a sweet little restaurant. Reservations are recommended. Parking may look as if it is full but swing around the back and walk towards and over the little bridge. You will know it when you see it.

I did think it was a little ambitious that it was opened , in season, for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but they are pulling this off beautifully, Just look at those reviews ! kudos !!

Great value for the money and time so well spent. Relax and enjoy !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Try It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went for dinner because several locals told us the lunches were great. The restaurants in the Highlands-Cashiers plateau have become very boring. The word one summer resident used was 'reliable'. It's too bad there so few adventurous chefs working here. The three of us ordered three different salads and entrees. The salads were very tasty and every entree had a lovely and flavorful sauce with accent vegetables. Their wine selections are simple and not overpriced. We were happy that we didn't order the early bird specials. They were a bargain and I'm sure we'll try them in the future. We were looking for a fine dining experience and found one. The service is very professional. As locals we are very happy for the fresh start this creative chef has achieved. We will bring our friends here often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular treat -- good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went to Randevu on a Thursday night around 7:45 pm. It was very crowded, but we were served promptly and out the door by 9:00 pm. The interior and ambiance was pleasant although a little loud with a full house. The wait staff were very friendly, professional and made us feel welcomed. The food was OUTSTANDING and the portions were ample. The accompanying salad could have been a meal on its own and far from the usual house salad: assortment of greens, goat cheese, candied walnuts, cranberries and pear with a raspberry vinaigrette-- very delicious (there were two other choices for salads).The dishes we sampled were a tequila lime duck breast with jasmine rice/sweet peas and a pumpkin seed encrusted halibut with lobster risotto and asparagus tips. I highly recommend both of these selections! The halibut was such a large portion that we were able to have a second meal the next day -- just as delicious reheated! We are a budget-conscious couple, so this meal was a special treat for us. However, because of the ample portions, it was also a very good value. Eating at Randevu will now be required stop for us while vacationing in Cashiers! Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Randevu also viewed

 

Been to Randevu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randevu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.