We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ in the heart of the Smoky Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Smokehouse

Carolina Smokehouse
US Highway 64, Cashiers, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 25 Restaurants in Cashiers
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Anchorage
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ in the heart of the Smoky Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My friends said this was one of the best BBQ joints within easy driving distance of Highlands, NC. They were not wrong. Rob & Tammy Williams have an excellent operation here. Some of the best BBQ we have eaten. They also have the best license plate collection we have ever seen...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped by the Carolina Smokehouse, located right off the highway, as you enter beautiful Cashiers, NC. The restaurant had a nice, rustic look and was quite busy, so we thought it might be a good option. It was a disappointing experience all around: the table was dirty, the table settings poor. We ordered pulled pork and rib platters; the pork was OK, served w/ sauce (none on the tables) w/ poor quality coleslaw. The baked beans were an add'l cost and appeared to come right out of a can w/ dried onions as the only enhancement. The service was fast, but non-attentive. We would not recommend this restaurant. The town of Cashiers though was lovely and as was the "Leaf Festival" which we attended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It could really be so much better with a little effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The best thing on the menu is a hamburger. Barbecue is not very flavorful, price is outrageous for what you get. Unfortunately there is little if any competition, so if you want barbecue in cashiers you need to eat this or leave town. My kids like the ribs, but they are steamed instead of barbecued and I am not a big fan

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No snobs here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I own a Two Rivers Lodge in Bryson City Nc. and give motorcycle tours of the area. I bring groups here as much several times a month and always get thumbs up. I can always count on Carolina Smokehouse to be open and ready to serve weather I bring in six or twenty six riders. The BBQ is truly slow smoked the way we did back home in Memphis and the sauce is sweet as it should be. The onion rings get moans of satisfaction from all that try them and an order can is large enough to share with two or three. if you want something light have a BLT and sweet tea, always refreshing. I have taken 800+ here in the last six years and they always ask to return when visiting the area. For a down home atmosphere in an up scale area there is no equal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hot barbecue sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Their hot barbecue sauce is the best I have eaten. They have a great variety of dishes, and when my daughter comes for a visit,she always wants to go to the Smokehouse.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Smokehouse also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to Carolina Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.