We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back into time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Hampton Inn & Country Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
1525 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717-0338   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cashiers
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A step back into time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been going back to this hotel for 25 years. It is always a great experience to return. This historic lodge is steeped in history and is always a pleasure to come back to.The staff is so hospitable and welcoming. You feel like you are back with family members. The grounds and surrounding area are breathtaking. The food was always good but this year is was fabulous. The wait staff and the maitre d are so attentive. The best part is it ismeticulously maintained and never changes. We took my children and their spouses this year. If you are looking for southern hospitality in a rustic inn you cannot beat High Hampton. I cannot wait to get back. I hope it never changes because some things cannot be improved. Thanks to the McKee family for preserving and sharing this treasure?

Room Tip: The cabins and main lodge are all rustic and great to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
What an honor to have you returning for 25 years. We appreciate your loyalty and we take that loyalty very seriously. A 1,400 acre resort is a challenge to maintain and keep up. We try our very best to improve upon the property and buildings each year without taking out the rustic appeal, all the while maintaining our stewardship objectives. Thank you again and we hope that you and your family continue to visit and enjoy this very special resort.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cashiers, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have lived in Cashiers for over a decade. Tucked away just South of the Crossroads on Highway 107 is this wonderful place. No doubt you have read the reviews which are all glowing.

We frequently go to High Hampton for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It is always a treat and the experience of visiting is like stepping back in time. The staff is always polite and the place is steeped in tradition. We love walking the grounds and talking to the guests.

Last week we chatted with an elderly couple that had been coming to High Hampton for forty years. Eight were there now and fourteen on their way for this annual tradition. This couple mostly relaxed on the shaded porch and watched the grandchildren. It is always the same: " We have been coming here for decades. We love the place, the area, the staff." It is charming to say the least and so so unique.

I highly recommend you stop by High Hampton if you are in Cashiers or nearby Highlands or even better stay there during your trip. It is a wonderful place. If you are not staying there, call and make a reservation for an amazing buffet meal. Jackets required for men Sunday through Thursday and Jacket and tie on Friday and Saturday evening. Sounds like a pain, but it is tradition and actually much appreciated by the guests. Be mindful of the times the dining room is open.

We were pleased to see that they have added stir fry stations at the evening meal for healthy eaters so there is no excuse for staying away from the dining room.

On the back page of the brochure it says " High Hampton is Not For Everyone" They go on to say some prefer plush to mountain rustic. You have stepped back in time. This is definitely rustic but it has amazing amenities that make this a unique and special travel experience. There is no TV in the rooms but wifi is in the lobby. There is no A/C in the cabins, but it is generally cool at night. We live here five months a year and rarely use the A/C in our Cashiers home.

Be sure to walk out the back of the lodge and down to view the lake. The view is amazing and memorable to say the least. If you are not staying at High Hampton, you will certainly wish you were!

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about the various views and locations. Some cabins are a walk down the mountain s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
What a very thorough review you have written. Thank you! We appreciate you mentioning the traditions and our generational guests. Your accurate description of our food and the newly instituted Heart Healthy stir fry stations is very much appreciated. Our staff thanks you and the best part was that you are local and recognized us for what we are. Thank you, thank you and thank you!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are heading back to High Hampton again for Thanksgiving. We were there before Thanksgiving and found it the perfect place for a family holiday. The service was attentive and always thoughtful. The range of activities were in place for all ages. Wonderful children programs for day and evening. Time for families to be together and time for all ages to enjoy apart time.The food was delicious. The scenery at the location of the hotel was outstanding. The one minor glich was the necessity to wear a coat and tie for Thanksgiving day dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are looking forward to your return. As in years past, we have countless number of activities planned, more food than you can eat and fires going in every fireplace. See you in November and thank you for the time to took to write.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A Family member took us to High Hampton for a wonderful lunch. It is a rustic lodge steeped in tradition that has hosted families for many years. You step back in time as you enter the lodge, the grounds are spectacular, the lobby is massive with a large fireplace and then to your left you enter the huge long dining room filled with lovely tables decked out in white linens and a friendly staff to assist you. It is a buffet and it changes daily. It was very good and very affordable for all that you get . Then you must explore the grounds, go to the lake, admire the mountains, and sit awhile in the rocking chairs and just soak up an era gone by. I would definitely come back, want to try dinner and would love to stay a weekend in this charming piece of history.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your very nice comments. Glad you explored our grounds which provided you a taste of your next visit. Please come back soon, spend the night and enjoy several meal periods with us. Thank you again.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at the HH for a family reunion for the past 15 years over the 4th of July. We've enjoyed watching our children grow up in a safe place that offers many entertaining options for all ages. Having 3 good buffet meals a day on the grounds removes the "where are we going to eat" challenges for family vacations. There are adult, child and family activities that are both vintage Americana and affordable.

Over the years we have seen the family owners carefully maintain the feel of the Inn while upgrading the amenities for modern guests. You have to realize before you go that you'll be staying in a facility started about 160 years ago. It is therefore rough around the edges in places, but quaint and worn by love by those who have made this location a tradition. There are plenty of options in the USA that offer all the glitz, but only a few resorts that focus on the visitor having family time rooted in family values.

The challenge this resort seems to have is in balancing the desires of our "virtual-driven culture" while retaining their historic roots and maintaining profitability. Too many resorts have upgraded themselves into bankruptcy so I appreciate the slow approach the family is taking. There are some strains of management transition. New employees and managers are not as well trained as in previous years. Dining room staff are a mix of sweet international students that don't understand American dining traditions, and are struggling to understand our "brand" of English. You aren't greeted with the same enthusiasm upon arrival which seems to reflect the somewhat introverted personality of their new GM.

The Inn is an excellent value. A family of any size will leave there having spent more time getting to know one another. Parents can find ways to steal-away for a few quiet moments while their children are well cared for with interactive programs. You'll be well fed and if you engage in some of the activities you'll be healthier too. They even have a very nice spa and workout facility.

HH offers a vintage family postcard vacation at an affordable price. You might bump your head on the low doorways of history, but you'll be a better person for the experience. Disconnect from the internet world for a few days (wifi is there if you must) and instead stare deeply into the eyes of your spouse and children instead of the iphone and allow this beautiful mountain resort to refresh you.

Room Tip: No two rooms are alike. Each room has its own identity, charm and limitations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. You certainly have seen us evolve over the past fifteen years. It is truly a balancing act to try to improve/upgrade without compromising the decades of rustic, family wholesome experience. You also had to endure the rain that never seemed to stop during your visit. To say that was a challenge for everyone would be an understatement. However, in spite of Mother Nature’s challenges we think everyone had a great visit and plenty of time to bond with their family and friends.

Thank you for your loyalty, patience this year and your affection to this family owned resort.

Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur AL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently "gotta away" for a short week-end break at High Hampton. I've been going there for
twenty years or so. It is perfect getting away from the intensity of modern life. We met a darling
couple doing exactly the same thing. The chef told me he prepared 1000 meals a day in high season.
This is my favorite food in the world. For lunch, I ate the best chocolate cake I ever tasted-EVER!
We sleep so well at HH-it is cool at night. My husband hikes and I read books. Total pleasure
for us both. Satisfaction=100%.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much and we will pass along your nice comments to the Chef. So glad you chose us for your brief respite. Please return often and just know we appreciate you and your husband.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I travelled there with 12 friends to do day hikes. The inn was well located for several hikes. We enjoyed the one on the property Chimney Mountain and Rock Mountain the best. Staff were always helpfully and pleasant and provided packed lunches when we were not going to be back on time. Meals were always excellent. Beautiful location. It is a family resort so expect lots of young children having fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We really enjoyed your group very much and it did appear that everyone had a joyful time. Hope you return often.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Address: 1525 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717-0338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Hampton Inn & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added High Hampton Inn & Country Club to your Saves list