We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15th Annual family visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Hampton Inn & Country Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Save Saved
You added High Hampton Inn & Country Club to your Saves list
1525 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717-0338   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“15th Annual family visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at the HH for a family reunion for the past 15 years over the 4th of July. We've enjoyed watching our children grow up in a safe place that offers many entertaining options for all ages. Having 3 good buffet meals a day on the grounds removes the "where are we going to eat" challenges for family vacations. There are adult, child and family activities that are both vintage Americana and affordable.

Over the years we have seen the family owners carefully maintain the feel of the Inn while upgrading the amenities for modern guests. You have to realize before you go that you'll be staying in a facility started about 160 years ago. It is therefore rough around the edges in places, but quaint and worn by love by those who have made this location a tradition. There are plenty of options in the USA that offer all the glitz, but only a few resorts that focus on the visitor having family time rooted in family values.

The challenge this resort seems to have is in balancing the desires of our "virtual-driven culture" while retaining their historic roots and maintaining profitability. Too many resorts have upgraded themselves into bankruptcy so I appreciate the slow approach the family is taking. There are some strains of management transition. New employees and managers are not as well trained as in previous years. Dining room staff are a mix of sweet international students that don't understand American dining traditions, and are struggling to understand our "brand" of English. You aren't greeted with the same enthusiasm upon arrival which seems to reflect the somewhat introverted personality of their new GM.

The Inn is an excellent value. A family of any size will leave there having spent more time getting to know one another. Parents can find ways to steal-away for a few quiet moments while their children are well cared for with interactive programs. You'll be well fed and if you engage in some of the activities you'll be healthier too. They even have a very nice spa and workout facility.

HH offers a vintage family postcard vacation at an affordable price. You might bump your head on the low doorways of history, but you'll be a better person for the experience. Disconnect from the internet world for a few days (wifi is there if you must) and instead stare deeply into the eyes of your spouse and children instead of the iphone and allow this beautiful mountain resort to refresh you.

Room Tip: No two rooms are alike. Each room has its own identity, charm and limitations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. You certainly have seen us evolve over the past fifteen years. It is truly a balancing act to try to improve/upgrade without compromising the decades of rustic, family wholesome experience. You also had to endure the rain that never seemed to stop during your visit. To say that was a challenge for everyone would be an understatement. However, in spite of Mother Nature’s challenges we think everyone had a great visit and plenty of time to bond with their family and friends.

Thank you for your loyalty, patience this year and your affection to this family owned resort.

Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    33
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
67
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently "gotta away" for a short week-end break at High Hampton. I've been going there for
twenty years or so. It is perfect getting away from the intensity of modern life. We met a darling
couple doing exactly the same thing. The chef told me he prepared 1000 meals a day in high season.
This is my favorite food in the world. For lunch, I ate the best chocolate cake I ever tasted-EVER!
We sleep so well at HH-it is cool at night. My husband hikes and I read books. Total pleasure
for us both. Satisfaction=100%.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much and we will pass along your nice comments to the Chef. So glad you chose us for your brief respite. Please return often and just know we appreciate you and your husband.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I travelled there with 12 friends to do day hikes. The inn was well located for several hikes. We enjoyed the one on the property Chimney Mountain and Rock Mountain the best. Staff were always helpfully and pleasant and provided packed lunches when we were not going to be back on time. Meals were always excellent. Beautiful location. It is a family resort so expect lots of young children having fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We really enjoyed your group very much and it did appear that everyone had a joyful time. Hope you return often.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Step back in time and experience gracious, upscale mountain hospitality as it has been practiced for 100 years at High Hampton Inn. It's like staying at your grandfather's very genteel old country club. Rustic and proper at the same time. Love their traditions - no motorcycles allowed (noisy), dress for dinner, etc. Well scrubbed, polite crowd, many of whom have been coming to the High Hampton Inn for generations. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Great to hear from you and thank you for your positive remarks. We intend to keep the traditions going so on your next visit you’ll know what to expect. Thank you again.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are avid travelers and have stayed in hotels ranging from stilted tree lodges in Africa to five star hotels in Europe. We would not hesitate to book High Hampton Inn (HHI) again and recommend it to other travelers.

We had our first stay at HHI on May 10-12 and thoroughly enjoyed this step back in Southern culture. My Southern culture would be Atlanta and the surrounding Southern states. My wife’s Southern culture would be Durban, South Africa and the Drakensberg Mountains. The HHI reminded us of places we had visited as youngsters and all the good memories they provided.

The grounds were stunning, particularly as you first drive in the winding driveway. The trees, flowers and grass were in bloom and very beautiful. The lodge looked like a cross between the Walton’s house and a New England inn. The lodge was decorated in a kind of hunting/country club lodge style, very understated but very nice. Real fires were in the fireplaces.

The dining room was the main attraction in the lodge. The room was all wood, floors, walls and ceilings, very traditional looking. Tables were wooden with linen table clothes. Silverware was appropriate for eating meals in courses. A real fire was in the fireplace in the dining room too. The food was comfort food such as, fried chicken, shrimp and grits, barbecued pork. New York strip, baked turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, broccoli casserole, strawberry/rhubarb cobbler, hummingbird cake, etc. The food, while not gourmet, was very good and very plentiful. We especially liked the fresh salads and homemade dressings. All meals were buffet style with different carving, omelet and stir fry stations. We thoroughly enjoyed our three meals a day. At 4:00 in the afternoon we enjoyed tea time, both hot and iced tea and cookies.

As clearly stated on the website and brochures, the rooms were rustic without air-conditioning, televisions or telephones. They were quite rustic but clean, nicely appointed and quaint. Our room was in the Lake Cottage and it was equipped with two double beds (quite comfortable), a ceiling fan, a chest of drawers and bathroom with tub and shower. The room had a hairdryer, an iron and an ironing board. The room had a very nice porch that overlooked the lake dam (great sound) and parts of the golf course.

The resort had many activities from which to choose. We played tennis, practiced putting/chipping, canoed, played shuffleboard, bocce, table tennis and golf. There were many other activities for all ages. We particularly enjoyed the tennis with the resident pro Mariona and a local minister/guide Steve. Both were great fun! The golf course was very scenic and very fun.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were particularly impressed with our reservationist Tina. She was very friendly and informative. Additionally the maître d, Corey was very friendly and accommodating. The staff all seemed to really enjoy their jobs.

The only negatives for us: the walls were thin in the rooms and the service at the restaurant was slow. One of our servers Queenie was very good and very personable.

We look forward to returning to HHI in the near future. We liked the walk back in time and enjoy starting another tradition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your glowing recap of your visit. As a first time visitor we are pleased that you captured the beauty of the resort and plan on returning. Being in business for 91 years we look forward to taking care of you in the years ahead.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent Mother's Day weekend here. It was our first time - but won't be our last. It is a charming setting, very rustic and very comfortable. The meals were great, the grounds are beautiful, and it is very relaxing to just sit in the lobby area and read. The Tavern has some wonderful entertainment.
Most of all the staff are simply wonderful and engaging. This will be my most enduring memory
- being treated like royalty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so very glad you took advantage of having Mother’s Day with us. Thank you for your kind remarks and we certainly look forward to your future visits. Thank you!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

High Hampton has been the same for over 20 years...a wonderful place for families and relaxing in the mountains. The food changes each day...desserts are made from scratch. Kids activities each day. Loads of hiking and golf can be enjoyed. Waterfalls are plenty around this resort. The resort is certainly rustic...don't expect butler service or 5 star meals but you should expect and will get good clean fun and wonderful memories. They have added a spa in recent years but I haven't had the pleasure of visiting it.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin rather then a room in the inn...there are many to choose from. Some are bigger then o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your visit and when you return introduce yourself and we will be glad to introduce you to our Spa.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Address: 1525 Highway 107 South, Cashiers, NC 28717-0338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Hampton Inn & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.