We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley

Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley
Lonesome Valley Road, Cashiers, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Cashiers
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3 Miles East of the Crossroads on Hwy. 64
Description: Chef Fleer (James Beard finalist 2011) 5-star
Guadalajara,Mexico
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had heard good things about the chef here,John Fleer,so made a reservation.
The menu is fixed price ($58) for four courses..
Our first question is was the chef here last night; he never made an appearance and the food was very poor..
The surroundings are very beautiful, but on a cool October night, there was little warmth.
The first thing that we did not like was the attempt to rush us into ordering wine and our choices from the menu.
The wine list composed of relatively unknown wines,at high prices.
The wait staff were young students,with little training and poorly attired.
My partner had a very small fish dish and my lamb shank,though plentiful,lacked sufficient flavor.
The desserts were rather small.
So, overall, we were glad to get out but the 18% service charge on the bill was an insult.
Our advice, keep away!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Outstanding all around dining experience. Incredible setting. Equally impressive food. We went with the wine pairings, which were excellent. We're normally not big white wine people, but the whites in the pairings were just right. We loved having the big doors open with amazing views of the canyon. The room itself was also beautiful. Just the right size and nicely appointed. I would recommend this spot in particular for a special occasion dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This restaurant is one of the best! It's in a valley all by itself so the views are awesome. They open all the doors so you feel like you are part of the outside, yet you are in the beautiful wooden building with very high ceilings. The food is out of the world! The chef puts together flavors that are better than you could imagine. I was concerned about the amount of food being served (4 courses), but the portion sizes were just right so that you didn't feel totally stuffed at the end. There is a great big fireplace with comfortable sofa and chairs to sit and enjoy after dinner drinks or coffee. LOVE THIS PLACE and will definitely go back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome, awesome, awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I don't know where to begin. Having spent time in Cashiers over the years, I knew about Canyon Kitchen and it's gorgeous location in Lonesome Valley, but had never dined there until this past weekend. What an awesome blend of rustic ambiance and creative southern cuisine! The first course was served family style so we each had a portion of four starters. The lobster "corn dog" and goat cheese gnudi were my favorites. The sauteed grouper over stone ground grits with broiled okra was delicious. The desserts were also wonderful. Our party of three ordered one of each kind and shared. Perfect evening. Perfect food. Perfect place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Expensive...and WORTH it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Expensive doesn't always translate to "great"...but at the Canyon Kitchen, it did...in spades. The restaurant is located just off busy and twisty Rt 64, but once you turn in you know this is a special place. The setting is in what appears to be a very large, open valley (canyon?) surrounded by gorgeous mountains. The building stands by itself and is a very appealing, open, one-room concept. And when I say open...I really mean open! Three of the four building sides are huge stack-back glass doors that were thrown open the night we were there, producing the very satisfying effect of feeling like being both outdoors and indoors at the same time. Think of an oversized mountain covered porch. The room's ambiance was completed by a roaring fire at one end of the room. The menu is prix fix and there were only four entree choices, so be prepared to like one of them! But the difficulty I had was in selecting only one from the four as all sounded delicious. I had the ribeye which seems like a rather pedestrian selection while in a gourmet restaurant. But the accent food items and flourishes turned what looked to be a smallish steak (I thought it looked like a filet) into an absolute riot of flavors and taste sensations. Every course was excellent and the wine menu was good if a bit hard to pick from as it was mainly populated with South American and European vintages. Service was so-so (a real problem in the Cashiers/Toxaway/Highlands area due to a shortage of available wait staff) but the overall experience was wonderful. Go expecting $100 @ person (including tip) and we were told reservations require 30-day notice due to the restaurant's popularity. We loved it!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley also viewed

 
Cashiers, Jackson County
 

Been to Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.