We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin Quaint Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurelwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurelwood Inn
Save
You added Laurelwood Inn to your Saves list
58 N Hwy 107, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Fayetteville, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cabin Quaint Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here on a Monday Tuesday so it was not very full and pretty quiet around. Overall it was a very nice stay and we had a relaxing time. I would recommend the cabin of which they only have one.

The rooms may be a little close to the road but the town is small and roads seem to calm down in the evening.

The owners are from California and have been here 20 some years. I got the feeling of possible fatigue on their part...unfinished pond with two huge stacked piles of rough cut cedar for a probably never to be built structure.

The place is clean enough but my biggest negative was the plumbing. When taking a shower the waste water backs up so one is standing in undrained water. The sink had similar issues. The toilet is tiny and the porcelain in cracked...

We slept up stairs with the windows open....very nice.

BTW if you like coffee bring your own stuff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurelwoodInn, Owner at Laurelwood Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property and so glad you enjoyed your stay! The cabin is a great unit! Sorry to hear the tub/sink was draining slow. We took care of that just as soon as I read your review! I am the owner and we purchased Laurelwood Inn 19 years ago. Sorry if I seemed "fatigued"...you must have caught me before my cup of coffee! :) (which is provided in all units and also in our lobby)

We actually still love being here and running the inn. We are even expanding and just purchased the property next to us. The wood you saw is from trees we milled right here on site. We didn't want to waste the wood so we let it dry out and we are starting to use it to build a deck on the new building. By next season our plans are to have a full service restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. The expansion plans also include a large pond area, but for this season we planted grass and wild flowers to make a nice park area. We look forward to you coming to stay with us again and seeing all the exciting changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
47
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Laurelwood Inn is a little gem, ideally located in Cashiers, NC. Super clean, very well appointed, gracious hosts. Fabulous hiking spots and gazebos to enjoy the evening coolness. Great prices. Very convenient to great restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. It is really cute and cozy. Loved the looks of the grounds. We took great pictures. Management was cordial. Loved the gazebo, and waterfall. Great place to walk around. Easy place to feel at home.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room, 103. Perfect spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Laurelwood Inn. My husband and I arrived at the Inn approximately two hours prior to check in and asked the manager at the front desk about recommendations for lunch while we waited to check in. She was so friendly and gave us some very good options and some information about the area. Also, she said our room was ready and that we could go ahead and check in early. Very friendly and accommodating establishment. We stayed in room 302. It was clean, comfortable and cozy. The porch out front is a great place to sit with a glass of wine and just relax. Actually, the front lobby is also a great place to relax, watch TV, and check your email from the complimentary work station. The Inn itself is in its own park like setting and just feels very safe and secure. We will be returning when we visit our relatives again in the future. This was a great find and a great price!

Room Tip: Room 302 is nice and large yet still cozy. Good internet speed. We were able to sneak a peek into ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent the weekend at Laurelwood and definitely enjoyed it. Our room was small with a double and twin; but we had everything we needed. Enjoyed the large walk-in shower and having a mini refrigerator. The managers are very attentive and friendly. The only suggestion we have is to make those smaller rooms in to a single queen or king room and use the larger, updated rooms for two beds. Very easy walk to Buck's for morning coffee. There is a very nice playground for kids, two gazebos and a water feature.

Room Tip: If space is a concern, go for the updated rooms (deluxe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location, lovely grounds, and friendly managers but the Laurelwood Inn does have its drawbacks.

We stayed 4 nights in room 104 and let me tell you after a long day of hiking, the last thing I wanted to do was crawl into that hard as a rock bed. Wow! I've stayed on 'firm' beds but this was painful. When I asked the owners they told me that, "most motels have harder beds because they last longer." They did not offer to move us to another room or provide us with any other padding.

The shower was small, even for 1 person, the bath "amenities" were in line with lower quality establishments and there was peeling wallpaper in the bathroom as well. The room itself was good sized and the desk, mini fridge and TV were just what you needed. Overall like I said the grounds and location to shops, places to eat and hiking trails was excellent. The lobby was nice and could serve as a nice gathering spot for small groups as well.

I would have loved to have given this place a higher rating but that bed! Ugh! And then with no offer to help us out in that situation. Enjoy the location; but BRING YOUR OWN PADDING!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

From the moment we checked-in to the moment we left, we felt as if we were with friends. The desk clerk, the husband and wife managers, and the husband and wife owners made us feel extremely welcome. That, coupled with an extremely clean and well kept facility, will mean that this will be our Inn to stay at on future trips to the Cashiers area.

We had a standard Queen room that was similar to the rest of the inn with stained bead board ceiling, some stained wood paneling as well as wainscoting. Although the room was not large, it was fine for the couple a days we stayed. There was a coffee maker as well as mini frig. We were given info on area trails, waterfalls, and restaurants.

Bathroom: small with a shower.
TV: 19 inch tube with 40 or so channels
Closet: only about 20 inches wide with storage shelving next to it
Bed: on firm side but not hard.
WiFI: worked well, did not check speed.
Furniture: 2 upholstered chairs, chair at built in desk, 2 end tables, many lights.

The guest lobby was very nice with a very large flat panel TV. The small kitchen area off the lobby had a microwave, coffee maker, sink, and refrigerator with fruit available with a couple of tables and chairs.

We were able to see a couple of the Deluxe rooms while there. They were much larger with the addition of a microwave, flat panel TVs. and some additional furniture; one had a larger closet with a bath/shower combo. The Suites and Cabins were occupied so we were not able to see them.

As I mentioned earlier, everything about the Inn was neat and well maintained. There is a playground off the parking area with picnic tables and small water features. The Inn is the process of building a garden area behind the room we stayed in….looks like an area of 150 by 75 feet at a minimum and may be larger.

It is refreshing to see a facility maintained with such pride.

We look forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurelwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Inn

Address: 58 N Hwy 107, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurelwood Inn has been family owned and operated since 1995. We offer the appeal of a quiet stay at an affordable price. We are located on four privately owned wooded acres in the heart of Cashiers, NC. The Inn has twenty charming rooms, suites and cabins. This soothing retreat, just a short drive from Highlands, NC, captures the hearts of vacationers looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Mountain Hotel Cashiers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurelwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.