We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucked out with stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurelwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurelwood Inn
Save
You added Laurelwood Inn to your Saves list
58 Hwy 107 N, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lucked out with stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

After a visit through Highland we came into Cashier's knowing we needed to find a place to stay. Having not booked anything ahead of time we knew finding a place to stay would be difficult. Cashier's has no main stream hotels/motels here. Anyway, we lucked out in finding a room at this Inn, due to a cancellation just minutes before we called.

The initial reaction is what a cute, quaint place. The feelings continued as we went into our room (a standard room) and was wowed by the scene outside the back window. No trash cans or ugly sites, rather a charming landscaped area with flowers. The Inn is old and does have the smell that only older hotels can acquire, but we loved the vintage smell. Inside our room had a rustic smell, and we were amazed at how much room such a small room afforded.

Overall, it is a pleasant experience, it has a touch of romanticism in the air (for me, the diehard romantic...for my husband, not so much). Anyway, I would recommend this place. I think for the money, it is a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    22
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
51
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

7 couples stayed Saturday nite to attend Sapphire Valley Car Show with our Atlanta Car Club. VERY CLEAN & recently well-restored, small Inn. The standard rooms, though small, are an incredible value & include efficient air conditioning, cable TV, fridge, ceiling fans, coffee maker, wifi & spotless bathrooms. Deluxe & Suite rooms in separate buildings are an even better value with added amenities & porches. Manicured, central landscaped area has BBQ/picnic area with small creeks. On-site manager was very friendly & accommodating to our group. Their website representation is completely accurate. Easy walking distance to Cashiers shops & eateries. Future plans include adding a small lake & green area at back of property. Highly recommended for relaxed stays at a VERY reasonable rate. (Rates are kept low by no food service on-site.)

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms closest to the highway entrance as the Inn is only a few yards off HWY 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Such a natural setting that took me back to childhood vacations. Wish I could be enthusiastic about the walking trail, but crossing the highways is dangerouse. The lodging was clean and pleasant. Nevertheless, if we return to the area, we will try to locate in nearby Highlands.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellijay, GA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I spent the night in Cashiers while motorcycle touring Western N. Carolina and E. Tennessee. The little family owned motel was perfect - not the Hilton, but then, we didn't want the Hilton! We love to find these little locally owned, funky places to stay. Much better than the standard "cookie-cutter" rooms in the chain hotels. The standard rooms here are small, but very clean, and have a rustic mountain feel - pine paneling, exposed beams. The grounds are excellent - little gazebos and a nice front porch for relaxing, and a pea-gravel parking lot that actually adds to the feel of the place (no hot asphalt and stripes!). Little bubbling water gardens and streams. And there is a nice walking trail that connects the entire village - very pleasant evening stroll. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornelia, ga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed two nights at Laurelwood, July 25 and 26, 201l, and enjoyed our stay immensely. The inn is situated right in the middle of Cashiers; however, the landscaping and water features of the grounds make you feel as though you are off the beaten path. The inn has what I like to refer to as 'character' and is anything but 'cookie cutter'. We stayed in a deluxe room, just under $100 a night, and found it a wonderful value for the area. The managers are nice and accommodating folks and take wonderful care of the property. It appears from what we saw that they are planning to expand the grounds and buildings. We loved the walking trail that took us through town and a beautiful little park nearby. We will definitely return to Laurelwood Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Staying at Laurelwood Mountain Inn is one of those rare occasions when you feel you have gotten MORE than your money's worth! We had a deluxe king-bed room for under $100 (plus taxes of course). I'm posting photos of the room because they show how awesome it is. The staff was welcoming and efficient. The Inn is right in town and adjacent to the town's walking trail. Cashiers is a convenient location for exploring the area, and it is MUCH more affordable than Highlands or Franklin, which still being an attractive location. We did not have to put down a deposit and rooms may be available at the last minute, so check!

Room Tip: Study the website to get a complete description of the room types. There are many variations of acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We spent one night in May, 2011, at the inn while we were visiting all the nearby waterfalls. It was a great find on the internet and AAA prior to our vacation across the southeastern states. When we eventually DID end up in the area we were pleasantly surprised that there were rooms available and at the very reasonable price which was advertised. We relaxed in the cozy room and had a very restful, quiet evening. Eric, the onsite manager, was extremely helpful in our waterfall searches and in pointing us to "The Grill" for dinner. We will DEFINITELY stay there again if we are ever in the area in the future. Thanks for the wonderful, quiet, quaint, AFFORDABLE place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurelwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Inn

Address: 58 Hwy 107 N, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurelwood Inn has been family owned and operated since 1995. We offer the appeal of a quiet stay at an affordable price. We are located on four privately owned wooded acres in the heart of Cashiers, NC. The Inn has twenty charming rooms, suites and cabins. This soothing retreat, just a short drive from Highlands, NC, captures the hearts of vacationers looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Mountain Hotel Cashiers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurelwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.