We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The salsa is the best I have ever eaten. The rest of the meal.....not so great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tarascos Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tarascos Mexican Restaurant
1383 SE Maynard Rd, Cary, NC 27511-6935
919-462-3363
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American
Restaurant details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The salsa is the best I have ever eaten. The rest of the meal.....not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is a small restaurant located in a strip mall. The people are very friendly and try hard to please. Unfortunately, the English comprehension is not great. I did not get what I ordered and the order had to be re-placed. It came as everyone else at the table finished their meals. The salsa is the best I have ever eaten, but the other items ordered were very average. We are from out of town and visited this restaurant because of the reviews we read on Tripadvisor. Maybe we hit it on an off-night, but we will not go there again. We were disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Cary, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We moved to Cary from TX and Southern CA and had been disappointed with Mexican restaurants... until we found Tarascos. We first went for my birthday in September and were so happy to find the sopes, pupuscas, fried plantaines and salsa bar. We returned the next week with my husband who loved it as well. One of our favorite Cary area restaurants and the best for Mexican/south American food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hispanic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The owners of this restaurant are actually from El Salvador, just for the record. Wonderful tacos. Chicken, steak, fish and more are available. Chilaquiles is exellant. It's not got a lot of atmosphere but the food is authentic and quick. Good service regardless of whether or not you speak Spanish.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food done right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very good agua de jamaica, not too sweet or watered down. Sopes were perfectly dense on the inside with a light crunch to the shell, not greasy. Cheese, lettuce, tomatoes all very fresh. Rice tasty, too! Our server did not know English, but was kind and attentive nonetheless. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good Tacos with great selection. My favorite are the fish tacos with guacamole. They also have good rotisserie chicken...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

Good Tacos with great selection. My favorite are the fish tacos with guacamole. They also have good rotisserie chicken. Nice and clean on the inside, with friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarascos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarascos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.