We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel/spa of all time visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Umstead Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary, NC 27513   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel/spa of all time visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Loved this five-star, five diamond resort. It was absolutely beautiful, set into a peaceful, gorgeous location which were calming and romantic. Restaurant "Herrons" was absolutely fantastic, food was sensational and delicious, service was unbelievably wonderful, décor was beautiful, wines choices were numerous and fine. Room for us, and next door suite for brother and family were large, beautifully decorated and quite elaborate. All accomodations were regal and staff were professional, and yet friendly and warm. No where else have I been in the past year that made me feel so relaxed, pampered and happy. Spa services were most professional, massages were delightful, steam room and hot tub were perfect. Pools were lovely, relaxing, clean and absolutely delightful. Hotel staff made each guest feel like a prince/princess. Loved it !

Room Tip: Each and every guest I spoke with loved their accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    73
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
68
212
35
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This pretentious property just doesn't fit in with Cary's lack of pulse and personality. It reminds one of a resort you would typically find in Florida or along the California coast.Cary is hardly a tourist destination but I recognize it was probably built for SAS and its clients who have deep, deep pockets. Very expensive and pretentious, with unnecessary valet parking, this resort is an overkill to say the least.Even spa membership is around $4,000 a year, clearly beyond the pockets of most people living in a small town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A quick trip to celebrate my birthday at the Umstead was a lovely surprise! The curb appeal is spectacular with the verdant flowers and landscaping. Valet staff is prompt and welcoming. Property is a peaceful and lovely oasis in the midst of the research triangle. Our spacious room was filled with natural light and lovely decor. The bellman took the time to familiarize us with the numerous amenities in the suite. The one disappointment was the 45 minute wait we had before checking in, despite the fact that we arrived at suggested time. No complimentary drinks were offered other than water. This over site was frustrating after a driving 2 hours. Felt that the spa changing rooms & pool could have been suggested as an option to sitting in the lobby.

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the pond. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property. I regret that you were inconvenienced during your arrival to the hotel and that suggestive alternatives were not provided. I appreciate your patience and am glad the remainder of your visit exceeded your expectations. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent 2 nights here on a leisurely trip from Ohio to the shore in NC. This is a high quality stay and worth the premium rate for the considerable step up from national brands. A very tranquil setting back in the woods and with a nice pond/lake and walking path. Room and service were first rate. The whole family enjoyed the nice pool area and the seating and pool staff were excellent. sleep quality was exceptional and everyone in the family enjoyed the high end mattresses. The location was great and very accessible to just about everything in the Raleigh/ Durham / Cary area. I'll also note this was only minutes from nice trails in the Umstead State Park. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel has rooms w balconies and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Umstead Hotel and Spa for your recent vacation. I appreciate your quality review of our property. I am delighted that your family enjoyed their experience and we hope you'll consider us the next time your travels bring you to North Carolina!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed this beautiful hotel located near Raleigh/Durham. It's about 10 minutes from the airport, nestled in Cary, North Carolina. The first part of our stay was for business. Check-in was flawless. We were even offered escort to our room, a nice touch. Nathanael had our luggage in our room by the time we arrived. We also loved the security in the hotel. In order to get to our room we had to use our room key to access our floor. We had a lovely room, spacious, coffee maker, oversized bathroom, with a lovely shower. Turn down service each night, left us with delicious dark chocolates and slippers laid out for our convenience. We enjoyed the beautiful flowers throughout the hotel. We chatted briefly with the gentleman who cared for them and he told us twice a week they received fresh flowers from Ecuador and Holland. You can tell the beauty is in the details of this hotel. For the business segment we enjoyed delicious breakfast buffets, the bacon was exceptional and lunches, the fried eggplant as well as the tomatoes and fresh mozzarella were delectable. We enjoyed the pool even though it was 97 degrees, a little warm to be outside, but the pool was refreshing. Our favorite drink at the pool was the blackberry mojito, definitely a thirst quencher. Laura, our server, did everything to make our time at the pool enjoyable. We were greeted with an aluminum bucket full of ice, two bottles of water and a spray bottle to cool us off. Nice touch. The concierge was very helpful as well. Adam got us reservations at the Stanbury as well as recommended a great breakfast place called Joules. We had rented a car so were in and out quite a bit, Rick, one of the valet's was always pleasant and prompt with our auto. I also enjoyed a facial at the Spa. Danielle checked me in and was very informative as to where we could find pizza. Salome gave me a lovely tour of the Spa. Celeste did a great job on my facia. I was taken back a little late and finished before the 50 minutes, but still would recommend. The last morning we enjoyed room service for breakfast. It was served on time, note and delicious. Checkout was seamless with Laura at the front desk. This property is very close to PNC arena. So if you are attending a concert there, this would be the place to stay. Billy Joel did!!Or you might consider a wedding and reception. We enjoyed watching from afar. A beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your thorough review is appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay including recalling the staff members who clearly contributed to your experience. It gives me great pleasure to know you enjoyed many aspects of our property during your stay and that you got to experience some of what the local area offers as well! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed at The Umstead at least 10 times in the past couple of years, always on business. It is truly a 5-star hotel. The service is impecable. The moment you enter the hotel, you are greeted by your name with many to assist you. The rooms are a good size and offer a tremendously comfortable bed and a large, marble bathroom with hugh soaking tub and separate shower. If you reserve a room with a balcony, you have a great view of the pond and gorgeous setting. There are great walking paths as well as jogging trails from 2, 5, 10 km dependent on the route. The grounds are impeccably maintained and offer tranquilty after a long day.

I usually opt for room service which is fantastic. Always delivered on time, they provide a comfortable, formal set up in your room. If you choose the restaurant, you are in for a treat. Although very expensive, the flavors are unique. The bar area offers a slightly smaller menu. Grab a glass of wine and sit out on the back balcony near the fire- great atmosphere.

I ordered breakfast via room service every morning. The lovely attendant would see my room number and recall my order from the previous morning (by memory). She was amazing.

The room prices are very competitive for business travelers with expense guidelines. For the quality of hotel, I find them to be quite low. This quality of hotel could certainly charge much higher rates.

The one good thing about traveling to RTP for 16 hour work days is The Umstead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your experience from the perspective of a business traveler. It is always wonderful to learn of how our travelers utilize the property and I'm glad you find calm and serenity by staying with us. We hope your work or pleasure travels bring you back to the Raleigh/Durham market so we can welcome you back again!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great service. There are a few things that I did not like to give it five stars. Food is very expensive and too "creative". I love creative food but it should also be tasty. I did not find any good and healthy salad and appetizer. Main course isn't impressive either. We were also promised by American Express a nice view and an upgrade but it never happened. I would ask hotel management to replace pool chairs that don't recline. Everyone by the pool found them uncomfortable. Pool was too crowded. Also there is no nice waiting area in the spa. After visiting Las Vegas spas it is disappointing. Please add nice and relaxing waiting area with fruits and refreshments. I am not sure that we will come back to stay at this property.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Raleigh - Cary
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
4.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham Airport/Brier Creek
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
2.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Raleigh Cary/Weston Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary, NC 27513
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Umstead Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.