We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Umstead Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary, NC 27513   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morehead City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Rate Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to celebrate our 34th anniversary and it was 5 star service the entire time. This is how all hotels should treat their guests. It was worth every penny spent and you will spend some money here but it's all worth it. I highly recommend this hotel. The bicycles we used to ride through Umstead State Park were in great condition and were a nice perk; no additional fee for their use. The fitness center was clean and not crowded. The facials we had at the spa were top notch and everything in the spa was first class. Our dinner at Herron's was gourmet and excellent; the service impeccable ......would love to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your 34th Anniversary. We appreciate your patronage and are grateful that you shared your experience. I am personally pleased you were able to take in so much of what the property offers and I look forward to welcoming you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    66
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
61
191
30
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I started our 10th anniversary getaway at the Umstead. The service, rooms, and overall experience were great. We even got a nice, unexpected treat delivered to our room in honor of our event. We've already started talking about making the Umstead an annual escape.

We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the lake and enjoyed the relaxing balcony views. We also enjoyed the short walk around the lake and the art gallery with its colorful exhibit. We finished up with an enjoyable lunch at Herons before continuing on our trip.

After staying at the Umstead, we couldn't help but be let down when we got to our next destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your 10th Anniversary! I am delighted to read that we provided an outstanding and memorable stay for you and your wife. We look forward to being a destination for your celebrations in the future!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Cary, NC is a suburb of Raleigh. Stay here when you visit to enjoy the beauty of NC and still be close to the activity of Raleigh. Conveniently tucked in right by I-40 makes it a perfect choice when you have tickets to the PNC Arena about 5 minutes away depending, of course, on traffic. From the moment you drive up, and until you sadly have to leave, you will be telling yourself that you selected THE BEST HOTEL around! The professional staff are extremely well-trained to ensure that you have whatever it is you need without being obtrusive. There wasn't anything we could find that they could do better than they already were! Highlights: fast and delicious room service, 5 star spa (even if you don't get a treatment, you can enjoy the amenities--coed hot tub outside), and the super cool one touch controls for temperature and lights in your room. Plus comfortable beds that are perfect--not too soft to hurt your back but just right! There's so much more to this luxury hotel and the price is very fair. You will keep patting yourself on the back saying you did good by selecting The Umstead for your stay in NC.

Room Tip: It's located in a gorgeous location, I cannot imagine a bad room, but we chose a view in the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa. I'm glad you found our location convenient and a luxurious choice. We are honored to be considered "The Best Hotel" and appreciate your patronage.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having lived in Chapel Hill for several years, I've spent a good amount of time at the Umstead for work, but had never stayed in a room there until recently. Predictably, it was fantastic.

The hotel has the feel of having been built, designed, and furnished to be 100% high quality, regardless of profitability. Now, maybe it's very profitable, I don't know; I just know that every detail was filled in perfectly. This extends to the resident artwork, some of which originally inspired me to purchase Ben Owen pottery, for example.

What stood out on this trip was 1.) the room and 2.) the spa. I ended up in a suite, which was just great. The bed is fantastic, the room was quiet, the bathroom is perfect. After running around the adjacent SAS office complex, which is great, I visited the sauna/steam room. This was wonderful, too, and I had the place nearly to myself.

All in, I'll look for an excuse to return. And, as for which hotel the Umstead is tied with: the Rosewood in Menlo Park, CA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa. I am happy to learn how pleased you were with your stay. We are humbled to be tied for your favorite hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

You can't beat this place, located just off of !-40, minutes away from Raleigh, Chapel Hill, and Durham.

We were able to get a AAA rate on a Sunday evening and were pleased to learn that there were no additional resort surcharges or parking fees.

There is a wide range of spa services available; however, the workout room, sauna, steam room, whirlpool and comfortable spa lounges are included in the room rate. Each guest is offered a private, comprehensive tour of the options and areas by a spa concierge.

Rooms are impeccable and beautifully appointed... great bedding and state of the art room controls. Service personnel are very attentive; nightly turn down, daily newspapers, robes and slippers are some of the amenities.

The knowledgeable barkeep tends an upscale bar with a wide range of offerings.

Throughout the tranquil hotel are many examples of artists' works from all over. In essence, it is an art gallery (including a guide for art exhibits).

The outdoor activities include a ten minute walk around a lake, or 45 minute walk through the adjacent SAS campus. About a mile away is Umstead State Park, which has thousands of acres of wooded walking and running trails, streams, and lakes.


.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and remarks. It is wonderful to know that you were able to take advantage of our property amenities during your short visit! I am glad you saw value in your stay and we hope that translates to a return visit. We would be honored to welcome you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Was there on a business trip recently. Outstanding service, lovely large rooms, very good food that isn't outrageously priced, and a nice workout facility. My mid-week business price was under $300 which I considered to be a very good value. I didn't use the spa but a gaggle of local women I spoke to on the way out gushed about it. Be aware that the hotel is close to the highway so the traffic noise outside is somewhat loud if you are on the grounds or have the slider to the lovely balcony open. Garden level rooms are cheaper, but anyone walking the grounds, which isn't many, can easily see into the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent business trip. Your recognition of our spacious accommodations, excellent food and beverage, facilities and value are truly appreciated. We hope on your next visit you'll have the opportunity to spend some time at The Umstead Spa! We look forward to welcoming you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel & spa for a quick 10th anniversary getaway since we have 3 small children and a trip further away was out of the question. The facilities are first rate, the spa is exquisite and the food was divine! The staff was courteous, responsive and attentive and we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We had an executive suite and it was outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing The Umstead Hotel and Spa for your very special stay. I am glad that your staycation exceeded your expectations. We hope that for future celebrations we will welcome you back!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary, NC 27513
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Umstead Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.