We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Umstead Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary, NC 27513   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hideaway Package
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Cary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I traveled to this hotel as a combination birthday vacation and Babymoon before the arrival of our first child. We stayed for a long weekend, and were treated extremely well. My husband felt like a king. The property, the hotel itself and the rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    55
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
44
149
25
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister gave us an overnight at The Umstead Hotel and Spa. Our room was not ready when we arrived so the front desk gave us complimentary drinks and we wandered around and admired the art. What a lovely place. The bed was very comfortable and the bath area stellar. I had a long soak in the tub while Bob napped. We had a nice walk around the grounds before our soak and nap. The food was delicious at the Heron for dinner and the room service breakfast was superb. Your every wish is accommodated in this very elegant setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review of our property. I am delighted to know you had a relaxing stay and I wanted to also thank you for your patience and understanding in regards to your guest room readiness. It is our goal to provide memorable experiences for our guests and I am pleased that we accomplished that with your stay.

Sincerely,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My daughter and I had two nights at the Umstead Hotel and Spa We had a chance to eat at Herons and had several spa treatments as well. The room was nice but the bathroom was stellar. Nice soaking tub and seperate shower. I was surprised, however, to find a large dirty spot on the carpet in front of the bathroom. By large, I mean as big as a trash can lid. Aside from that the room was well appointed and the beds comfortable. The spa treatments were great and the food at Herons pricey but delicious. We had a chance to walk around the lake which was very relaxing and my daughter used the small gym every day. The hotel staff was very attentive and willing to assist when asked. We will definitely return when the spa reopens in July.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with The Umstead Hotel and Spa for your recent getaway experience. I appreciate your fond comments towards our spa, grounds, food and service aspects. I regret that your guest accommodations had some flaws but I am pleased to inform you that the carpeting throughout our guest rooms is getting replaced this spring. We hope to welcome you and your daughter back in the Summer to enjoy our new facilities.

Sincerely,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the only place I'll stay in RTP area. The service is amazing. The food in restaurant and bar is excellent . The spa is so wonderful with professional practitioners. The spa is closing for three months April 1 to be redone, so note that. Gym could use some work. Old equipment. No ellipticals, odd. Pool, fantastic, just opened. Gorgeous, soothing, family run hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get room on lake/fountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for making The Umstead Hotel and Spa your choice in the Triangle and for your thoughtful review. I wanted to make you aware of a refresh to our Fitness Center that is happening this month. We hope on your next visit you appreciate these changes. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at the Umstead for Valentines Day night. This is the nicest hotel I have stayed at in a long time. From the time you pull up to the front door you are treated like Kings and Queens. The Front desk staff greeted us with a smile and even walked us to the elevator showing us how to get to our room. The room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was like a Spa. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live in Cary but needed to be out of our house for the night for some work we were having done. What a pleasure to have such a fantastic place to spend a night away from home. This is a five star hotel close to the airport and the interstate but with the feeling of being secluded. It is hard to beat the excellent treatment by the staff, from the door men that welcome you, after parking for free in the self parking lot to the wonderfully appointed rooms and common areas. By the way some other high end properties should take note, the Umstead provides free wireless internet access as well. If you are going to be in the Research Triangle Park area, treat yourself with a stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room, if the weather is nice you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the peaceful surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband treated me to a birthday stay at this beautiful hotel/spa. From the second you arrive the pampering begins. The rooms are fabulous, spotless of course. It seems almost an insult to mention that. The staff wouldn't dream of it being anything less. We really enjoyed the private balcony. You are treated like royalty, your every need being anticipated and quietly provided for. Champagne and chocolates arrived shortly after we were shown our room. There is art everywhere. We took a nice walk to enjoy it. The spa is located on the bottom floor and, has thought of everything for your relaxation. You start off with detox tea and a quick tour. After an amazing spa treatment, my daughter and I barely had our toes in the whirlpool, when a staff member quietly appeared with towels draped over her arm for us. We returned after dinner to find our room prepared for dreamland. The beds were turned down, robes on each side of the bed, a cloth on the floor with slippers, dimmed lights, soft music, chocolates....The bed was luxurious and welcoming. I left feeling pampered, polished and very happy. It was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Drive, Cary, NC 27513
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Scott Crawford at its signature restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated since opening in 2007, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina’s first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property and member of Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Umstead Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.