We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused Wait staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kabuki
220 Nottingham Dr, Cary, NC 27511
(919) 380-8081
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 372 Restaurants in Cary
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Confused Wait staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Food is great if you can ever get the waitress to take your order and to take it right(for 4 people out of our group who said zucinni and onions they were charged carrotts, good thing the cook verifys or else we would have all been rabbits), took us over a hour for them to began to cook our food, once we had food it was as if the waitress was through with us. they did not come back to check our drinks. Once we had eaten and were ready for checks on one asked if we would like to go cups or boxes. But if you ask for a box of a to go cup it takes another 15 minutes for the waitress to get them. Once we had our checks there was confusion again on how to hand them out. Then it took over 45 minutes to bring back our cards and receipts. The waitress looked confused by a table of 13, and made herself scarse. The place is advertisted as a place to take a big party to, but 13 people are clearly to many for there wait staff to handle.
Food- the food was wonderfull, cook was very friendly and kept up a conversation with all of us. the food is the only reason to ever go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    6
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not Good AT ALL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went for lunch with a couple of colleagues. We all LOVE hibachi - which is why this was soooo disappointing.

First, we walked in around noon (peak lunch time, wouldn't you think?) and were greeted by a guy doing woodwork and tools lying everywhere. There were MAYBE 4 people in the restaurant that day, but for some reason they felt the need to sit us at the table right beside the work being done. We sit down - all we hear are drills and hammers. We asked to be moved, they sit us at the table RIGHT BESIDE THE LAST, although there wasn't a single other table in use. The waitress wasn't very on top of things, so it wasn't really worth arguing with...

We then order off the lunch menu. A couple of us attempt to order double veggie/no rice - the waitress doesn't get it and ultimately bring us a check and try to charge us an extra $3! The food comes out, the chef is subpar at best and the food is even worse. 90% of the veggies were onions, the shrimp were tiny and the steak wasn't good. The shrimp sauce at this place is even cheap. I ordered the 'Banzai' - which I thought was the same as Kanki - but it was more expensive and DIDN'T include both soup and salad.

I ended up paying $20 for a terrible lunch (soft drinks = $2.50) that I was very unhappy with. This place seems to be struggling very badly and because of this have increased their prices and cutting corners in every way possible.

I would not go back and frankly expect the doors to be closed soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Nc
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very pleased with first time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Been to many other Japanese restaurants in the area, this one has a very nice atmosphere. The staff was very efficient and pleasant and food very good. Must say that their green tea was rather interesting, almost tasted like flowers were added. We liked it. We will definately be returning. We used a Living Social coupon and no problems with that.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beware of Groupon!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I only went to this place because I got a groupon for sushi for which I paid $20 for $40 worth of sushi. The place was a bit dated and not busy and we sat in the sushi bar area where the bartender waited on us. Ordered a couple of apps and never even got plates, even after requested? This place does buy-one-get-one sushi all the time, but turns out that the fine print on the groupon, which I apparently did not read, said it does not include daily specials. We ended up ordering 8 rolls, 2 extra after our initial order in order to get out $40 worth, since we didn't know we weren't getting buy one/get one. We got the bill and were surprised at how much it was, or course. Turns out just getting the special would have saved me more $$. Basically, the groupon is PR to get you in the door and actually spend more money...except it just makes it so I won't ever go back. Sushi was pretty good, but not great. Like other reviews say, there are plenty of other more appealing sushi options in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We ordered the Hibachi dinner for two: Ribeye steak, chicken and shrimp.

Everything was cooked in front of us. The chef was an average showman. None of the meat was seared. They may have well just steamed the meat. The Fried rice and noodle base underlying all the meat had an odd sour taste unlike most soy sauce.

I did not eat the food. I went home and cooked my own seared Ribeye on the stove and it tasted one million percent better. So I'm out $45.00 plus tax.

I will never go there again. I cook better at home drunk than those guys. I could not even eat their food it was so bad.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kabuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.