We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cary Cafe

The Cary Cafe
904 NE Maynard Rd, Cary, NC 27513-4163
(919) 469-9415
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 372 Restaurants in Cary
Cuisines: Italian, American, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was a little disappointed with this place after reading good reviews. I had the chicken salad on a croissant, and while it tasted OK, there was too much mayo and not enough chicken. I was hungry again half way through the afternoon. The accompanying fruit cup was very small.

I don't particularly mind putting in my own order and clearing my own table, but I didn't find the atmosphere welcoming. The tables are too small and too close together, and it felt like a diner rather than a cafe. Frenetic rather than calming, and a place that expects you to eat and run.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Almost heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Almost a perfect breakfast place. Food is excellent, atmosphere is great -- as a small local place. Owner and help are very nice. But expect to help yourself, much is self service. That is the only hangup along with the small number of seats crunched together. BUT the food is delicious. The lemon pancakes are the best in the region, french toast tasty, and even simly bacon and eggs are perfectly done. Small place, self service - all worth it! Oh, it isn't opened on Sundays - wish it were.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb...9:00am bagel and cup of coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Love this place, great service with a smile and wonderful menu. If you plan on dining in on the weekends, I think it may be best to try to get there early. The everything bagels are delicious with cream cheese and some strawberry preserves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stop here trying to go to the top ten Breakfast venues in Raleigh. We went on a Saturday so were treated to the expanded offerings. My wife had the Greek omelet, She thought it was good had a generous amount of spinach and feta. I had the Belgium Waffle with sausage and egg. The eggs were scambled prepared correctly they had link sausage which were tasty and the waffle was sweet and cooked correctly. We had the hot chocolate and coffee for drinks. The coffee they served was a medium blend with a good flavor and the hot chocolate was hand made with real whipped cream. You order at the counter and the food is brought out to you. There was ample seating for the amount of people that were there (we went around 8). It was a pleasant experience, but I thought it was a tad expensive for the offerings. It wouldn't be on the top of my list, but I would go back if I wanted breakfast and was in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Modest and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A nice place for breakfast or lunch, with limited space and a limited menu. You put your order in at a small counter and then pick it up when your number is called (although a staff member kindly helped me fetch three orders to our table). Our party had one waffle breakfast, a Cuban sandwich, and a standard Greek sampler with excellent hummus. Everything was freshly prepared and served hot. A nice touch is the display of local art on the wall. (Tip: Mapquest directions are confusing.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cary Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Cary Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cary Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.