We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Academy Street Bistro

Academy Street Bistro
200 S Academy Street, Cary, NC 27511
919-377-0509
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Academy Street Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 359 Restaurants in Cary
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Academy Street Bistro is a casual dining restaurant serving a new American menu with a French flare. Come try our fresh fish, all natural meats, fresh and local produce. Academy Street Bistro only uses the freshest and highest quality ingredients available. We are committed to local farmers and will use organic produce whenever possible. Our meats are all natural. Please let us know of any allergies and we will accommodate you accordingly.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Academy Street Bistro has brought upscale dining to downtown Cary. Every meal we have had there has been excellent from their salmon cakes, to their to-die-for gourmet burger, and their creme brulee. The crab cakes are also a favorite of ours, in addition to the paninis that they have on special at lunch. The service has exceeded expectations at each visit. We can't wait for Sunday brunch to start this fall!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cute Atmosphere and Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food was fresh and delicious. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The pasta was amazing. We would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great dining in Cary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I was sad to see Klara's go, but the replacement is great! Went here for lunch with my wife. She had the crab cakes...lots of crab, very little filler. I had the salmon cake special, which was very good. Don't let the nice decor fool you...they even have a kids menu.

Only gripe was that the portions were a bit small....however, very good quality. I can see this place becoming a staple in Cary. Will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Every time is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of eating at Academy Street Bistro 4 times now. The first two times I had dinner and both of those time the meals were beautifully presented and cooked perfectly. The mussels are incredible. The scallops tasted amazing and had a sprinkling of seasonal beans on the plate as well as a root vegetable mash. Yum.
The next two times I visited was for lunch. Both times I had the Omelette and it was quite tasty. Today I ordered the soup of the day withe the omelette, which was Chilled Cucumber, it was simply delicious.
I highly recommend a visit to this wonderful new restaurant, it will not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice to have an upscale restaurant in Cary. Service was exceptional and food was well above average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Academy Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Academy Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.