We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spirits Pub and Grub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spirits Pub and Grub
701 East Chatham, Cary, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 345 restaurants in Cary
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Mac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We went to this place a couple months ago but they were out of power so we didn't eat anything. We decided to try it again a few nights ago. The atmosphere is nice, like a nice pub/bar.
We split the smoked chicken club and shrimp Mac n cheese. They were both terrific. The chicken was very tender, shrimp in Mac n cheese was crazy good. Who would have thought?!?!
The service wasn't bad, could be a bit better, but overall we would go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    7
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mac and Cheese!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a great place to go watch a game or just meet with friends. What makes it even better is their award winning Mac and Cheese! They have some standards that stay on the menu, although I think they change their menu a few times a year, you can't go wrong with any of them. They also have the Mac and Cheese of the month. These are always interesting and very good!

Spirits always seems to have a good selection of beer on drought and run weekly specials. The service is good and the staff are friendly. This place is definitely worth checking out if you haven't been here before!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GNO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Convenient to after work cocktails with the gal pals, greatv outdoor patio...love their mac & cheese & beer selections. But even domestic beer in bottles sort of pricey.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

It ticks me off when I order an item from the menu and half of it is missing! Then I tell my waitress that its missing and she says I'm sorry and still charges me FULL price!!! Not Good!!!! This place used to be the best place in Cary !! Not anymore, go somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food, but the portions are a little small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our server was great -- he was funny, personable and helpful. I really wanted to try the macaroni and cheese, based on a review I read, but when the server told me the portion size, I decided against it. Macaroni and cheese, even made with bacon and onions, is very inexpensive to make. The restaurant portion looked like a side item, not a main dish, especially for $10. I got the steak salad -- which was delicious -- but desperately needed bread, rolls or crackers with it. One son had the buffalo chicken sandwich with potato wedgies and he was still hungry after he ate. My other son and husband both had various burgers and potato wedgies that they enjoyed and that was enough food for them. Overall, it was a great experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirits Pub and Grub also viewed

 

Been to Spirits Pub and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirits Pub and Grub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.