We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low rates, a friendly staff and remodeled rooms with flat screen TVs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Walnut Street, Cary, NC 27511-9200   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Low rates, a friendly staff and remodeled rooms with flat screen TVs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

when I come to the Raleigh area, I don't bother to look
elsewhere, since their rates are so reasonable and the
rooms are always very clean.

The rooms have been upgraded to include flat screen
TVs, and now I can use the HDMI port on the TV and
use it as my computer monitor.

The rooms smell pleasant as well.

There are plenty of restaurants and shopping
close to the motel.

Room Tip: The business king room is only a few dollars more than the room with two beds, and it has a work st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    26
    17
    10
See reviews for
24
11
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The outside of the motel looks better than the inside.
I had to wait awhile for my room to be ready.
The motel description says it's "renovated" but there are cosmetic upgrades only, new bed (comfortable) and television. Everything else is showing it's age.
The towels and linens seemed clean and fresh but the floor could have been cleaner according to my white socks.
My laptop and phone cord connections kept falling out of the dated outlets.
There was the occasional chirp from the room's smoke detector throughout the night.
the bathroom sink stopped up but I got it free with plastic cup suction. (-:
Lots of noise from the floor overhead. Laminate flooring doesn't muffle noise like carpeting so a noisy neighbor can be annoying even with the HVAC unit and bathroom fan running.
There's no breakfast, continental or otherwise, just coffee.
It's convenient to Cary but around 9 miles to downtown Raleigh.
I probably wouldn't stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will certainly use them as we continue to make more improvements to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here to attend a St. Patrick's get together at a local place (2.5 miles down Walnut St) called Mac's Tavern. Room had two doubles and was clean. It had a large flat screen with plenty of channels. When checking in, the attendant was pointed; helpful. This hotel has two separate buildings. We were placed in the separate unit from the check-in building. Check-In guy called a taxi for to get us to Mac's Tavern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the response. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This RRI was recently renovated and is in great shape. New pergo floors in lieu of the usual carpeting are nice. We paid under $40 and pets stay free. The only downside was that the hot water was intermitant in the shower. Based on the price and current condition, this RRI merits 4* relative to the competition. Hopefully it will be well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your response and I'm glad that you liked the new design of our rooms! I'm sorry to hear about the shower issue. I'd like more details concerning the date and room number during your stay to ensure that this has been corrected. It's good to hear that you had a positive reaction to the new rooms and we look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Semi-redone rooms... Same furniture...different flooring....same curtains.... So some improvement but NOT like I have seen @ other properties as they have been re-done. ALSO...on my stay on 2/20-21/13. .. (2 nights) I had reservations no problem, check in was a little long since I was the only person in the lobby... Very courteous BUT sent me 2 a room that had not been serviced (after calling & asking someone to ask if it was clean----go figure) checked in about 3 p.m. (+\- a few minutes).

All is well.... TILL the next evening, I return to my room & it had not been serviced... I see the maid in the hallway & ask why... She tells me is going home ( b-t-w it's abut 5:30 (ish). I do get towels,etc for my room & then go to the front desk to register my complaint... Response was I'll put on the managers ... She does offer 2 switch my room.... Meaning I have to move myself...all because they did NOT their job... OR...she could get my room serviced (in some undetermined amount of time. Now, I have worked all day & have work to do for the evening (self-employed). I willing decline both offers.

the next morning I approach the manager & his ONLY response is "well, that's all we can (could) do" move you or service the room with you in there". I have stayed w/ RRI chain for over 20 years & probably have 2500+ nights w/ them. And the manager's only response was to inconvenience me.... Move me to another room. Or, cause me to work later into the evening.. I simply ask him if there was anything he could do as a credit to my bill.... Pls refer to above.... NO! Was his answer

What does everyone else think? Was I out of line? Or should RRI Cary,NC have made a loyal customer happy by simply issuing a $10 credit to my bill?

PLEASE respond I am curious

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and I see your perspective. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide superior service to every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Cary Red Roof Inn during the holidays as we visited relatives. We stayed in a new room and the beds were comfortable! In addition, the rooms were clean and the flat screen television was a great bonus! The hotel is within walking distance of H.H Gregg and Lowes, so we were able to do some last minute shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoke free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed the new room. You'll be glad to hear that our rooms are now 100% smoke free. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location is perfect for the Cary area and convenient to Raleigh. I have always found the rooms to be clean and they are currently renovating. I had a chance to stay in one of the new rooms, BIG improvement. I look forward to seeing all the rooms completed soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary

Address: 1800 Walnut Street, Cary, NC 27511-9200
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Cary
Cary Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.