We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream - high price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple View Ice Cream Carrboro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maple View Ice Cream Carrboro
100 E Weaver St, Carrboro, NC 27510-2318
919-967-6842
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good ice cream - high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had only lived in Carrboro several months when we decided to try Maple View. It was delicious homemade icre cream! The homemade cones are great too! The only drawback is the price - it's pretty expensive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noth Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best homemade ice cream I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

lay back atmosphere, friendly and on the country side. They have their own cows, their milk and chocolate milk are excellent, ice cream in many flavor and always great, have a little taste or this or that before you decide which flavor you want.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great View Excellent destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Close enough to Chapel Hill/Carrboro to justify the trip. go around sunset and you can watch the sun disappear over the cows that produced some of the milk that made the ice cream you are eating. That in itself is a rarity. I have tried many flavors over several visits and some of the more exotic ones; Huckleberry Yogurt, Teaberry, and Banana Pudding leave a little bit to be desired. the staples are simply great and it will take a few more visits to narrow down my favorites.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They cut out the middle man.....so to speak!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My "main" complaint with this establishment is P R I C E S! Maple View (a.k.a. Nutter Farm) has, in effect, eliminated one phase going from raw product to finished product. They went direct from farm to retail outlet. One would think, or at least I would since I've spent just about all of my terra firma existence in retail, that by cutting out an entire retail marketing segment, the finished product prices would be somewhat reduced. Not so with Maple View products. Your products are good.....very good.....BUT, they're not worth the rip-off prices attached to your products.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sorry this has closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The ice cream shop that has taken its place isn't nearly so good. Glad the Dairyland Rd. Maple View shop is still around!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple View Ice Cream Carrboro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple View Ice Cream Carrboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.