We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grocery store review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weaver Street Market and Cafe

Weaver Street Market and Cafe
101 E Weaver St, Carrboro, NC 27510-2370
919-929-0010
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 Restaurants in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grocery store review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good food, organic. Ready made items are great although a bit pricey. Great breads and ready made desserts/bakery items.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I enjoyed my time wandering around Weaver Street, and I applaud the variety of apparently healthy foods. However, the prices were prohibitively expensive and I don't recall buying anything as a result.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“If I had one of these in my town ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I'd need exercise more. A lot more. Stayed in the Chapel Hill area for a weekend and ate breakfast here twice because it was that good. Sausage biscuits, french toast, pastries, baguettes ... all the real deal. What a treasure for the community. And for visitors who sumble upon it!

Oh yeah, and you have to bring some cookies home with you too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Every Town Should Have a Place Like This”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were in from out of town and local friends brought us here for breakfast. The market, which has a wonderful bakery that you must pass by to get into the cafe, is a gem of a place. It would serve a lot of local restaurants well if they got their bread here. Anyway, back to breakfast which is served cafetaria/buffet style, and you pay by the weight. Good hearty selection of carbs and proteins. Nice way to start any day, but a five mile run before hand might be a nice balance if you get carried away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great market and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In these days of huge corporate grocery and restaurant chains, Weaver Street Market stands alone. Here they cater to quality at a reasonable price. The best bakery anywhere, a wide selection of well-labeled high quality produce (much of it locally grown), and a great by-the-pound salad and hot bar, WSM has about everything you might need. Weather allowing, it also has free music on the lawn offering a wide selection of great bands from jazz to bluegrass. Oh, and did I mention that it is a coop so that it does not have to pay huge salaries to CEOs and execs that require jacking up the prices?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weaver Street Market and Cafe also viewed

 
Carrboro, NC
 

Been to Weaver Street Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weaver Street Market and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.