We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   370 East Main Street, Carrboro, NC 27510   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
1 review
“Beautiful, clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Love this hotel! It is new - very clean and well-appointed! Staff is quite friendly and professional. Good amenities. Only glitch is the a/c/heat unit that we had in our room (# 223). HVAC unit is directly by bed, so cold air blew directly on us at night. Not sure if this is a problem throughout the hotel or only in our room. Ask for a room with the a/c unit AWAY from the bed! STILL DEFINITELY WORTH STAYING HERE!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    46
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
29
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howard Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My family recently spent the weekend in North Carolina for a wedding. The hotel accommodations were wonderful. The hotel is fairly new so everything was in perfect condition. The buffet breakfast had a great variety and the food was very good. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pendleton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel was located in a great area, accessible to local bars and restaurants and an easy drive to UNC Health Center. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel was recently opened for business. Parking was conveniently located in the adjacent parking garage for a $5 charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Clean room. Comfortable bedding, mattress, and pillows. Plenty of fresh, clean towels. Friendly and efficient front desk staff. Complimentary breakfast good but not great. Good value for the money. Stayed there for a conference and would gladly stay again for business or pleasure when in the Carrboro or Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent hotel. Traveled with a business group. We all had very nice rooms ( Plenty of room), very nice breakfasts, and also the front desk had snacks and drinks available. Would positivly stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is new, so very clean and fresh. I prefer Hampton Inn's that are completely smoke free as this one is, so that was what sold me on it. Upon arrival GPS indicated that the hotel was on the left, but no visible sign. Maybe a city ordinance prevents an adequate sign? We passed it twice. And coming from our direction there is no place to turn in. The lobby does not face the road, so you are really unsure it is a hotel. Front desk folks were great! They did not explain well how to get to our room from the parking garage. It took a few tries to get them to explain that well. We were given a ticket to put on our dash and told to park on the 4th or 5th floor of the parking garage. NO ONE mentioned a $5.00 a day fee for this. Until we left and saw it on our bill. For that price we should be able to park on the ground level. So to explain, you go up the elevator to your room and then if you need something from your car, you come down the elevator, out the lobby exit, to the parking garage, up the elevator to your car (garage elevator was under repair several times while we were there, meaning a 5 story walk) then repeat in reverse back to your room. Location is great for walking to restaurants, ice cream and shopping. But if you have valuables you don't wish to leave in the room, since there is no safe, you must go through this process to put items in your car. I really didn't want to carry around my camera and I-pad, so we had to do this several times. A safe added to the room would be a great addition. There also is no refrigerator or microwave in the room. For a room at that price and not being able to bring leftovers back to the room, it made the trip a bit more costly. It reveals it self more as Hilton than a Hampton Inn. Upon arriving home I realized my confirmation said free parking. It took a bit of contacting a few people, but the manager, Kevin, was kind enough to refund parking. I am giving the hotel a 4 because I rate cleanliness and a true nonsmoking hotel very high on my list. But adding a safe and frig to the rooms, and negotiating a parking contract, giving guests free parking would be a huge plus considering the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Considering the walk to the car, I would choose a ground floor room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went to Chapel Hill for a football game. Found this hotel that had just opened and was close enough to the stadium. The price was a little high, but I figured since it was walking distance and had breakfast it was worth it. A few hiccups in checking in probably due to the hotel being new I excused, but when we asked them for directions to the restaurant and they sent us in the opposite directions, I got a little peeved. The air circulation in the room though was horrible. Our room went from hot to cold. When the system wasn't on the room also got super stuffy. It was as if the system was from the 80s, even though it was brand new. Hopefully they get the kinks fixed, but if not won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Karen R,

Thank you for your most recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate you bringing the issues you had to our attention which will allow us the opportunity to correct going forward. The AC system we use in our rooms is a energy efficient system. I apologize the system didn't recognize you occupying the room so it could remain at the setting you were comfortable with. I will be certain to pass this along to my maintenance staff so we can correct the issue going forward.

Again thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the issues you experienced. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Rooney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro

Address: 370 East Main Street, Carrboro, NC 27510
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carrboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.