We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Maria's Pizzeria

Anna Maria's Pizzeria
104 Nc 54, Carrboro, NC 27510-1597
919-929-1877
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 59 Restaurants in Carrboro
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Have been going to Anna Maria's for years, and they know what they're doing. Great menu with lots of choice, and location at an out-of-the-way strip mall in Carrboro helps them keep their prices reasonable for good casual Italian. Always a good spot to fill up weeknight or weekend, and their family-run business has a pride in friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Roach in our pizza + horrendous customer service=never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been getting pizzas here for years, but last night was the last time. While eating his 3d slice of pepperoni pizza, our 14 yo son found a ROACH IN THE PIZZA. This was bad enough, but almost as bad was the way my husband was treated by the staff at AM's when he took the pizza and roach back to AM's to alert them and, we would have expected from any business, to get our $40 back. Instead of apologizing or refunding our money, the two attendants vehemently (and surlily) denied that there were or had ever been, roaches on the premises. When my husband insisted that our order did indeed have a roach in it, and that if they did not at least refund our order, he would spread the word, they threatened that he "had better be careful" what he said.

When he got home, I looked up their health inspection reports online at NC Public Health Inspections. Current grade is 91.5 (lowest in two years). Reports for 7/18/12 and 9/4/13 show roaches present, among multiple serious food safety infractions. Avoid this restaurant!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“our favorite carrboro / chapel hill pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

i've lived here over four years, and never knew that right in our backyard was some of the finest pizza! I've ordered pick-up pizzas from Anna Maria's three times now: favorite to date is mushroom, or greek pizza. One day I'll try the eggplant parmesan pizza. Reasonable prices (I never get pizza on Monday which is when the best price for a large pizza is), and a really great aroma and flavor (the aroma that only particular pizzas seem to give off - maybe its the cheese?) Our go-to spot.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Huge Steak and Cheese - Great Taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great variety of food - pizza, subs, Italian, eggplant, etc. Something for everyone at great price. In shopping plaza so can get shopping chores done then eat great food!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hands down the best pizza in Northern Orange County, equal to any in the region and better than most anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Top quality, fresh ingredients. Lots of quality cheese, excellent crusts, generous toppings, speedy service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anna Maria's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Anna Maria's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Maria's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.