We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very. Good visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasshalfull

Glasshalfull
106 S Greensboro St, Carrboro, NC 27510
+1 919-967-9784
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Glasshalfull, downtown Carrboro's own optimistic restaurant, wine bar, and wine shop. Here's your invitation to gather your friends for a festive exploration of our delicious contemporary American cooking and intriguing selection of wines from around the world. Plenty of free parking make it easy to meet for lunch or dinner, or simply a cocktail around the beautiful bar. So as the sun sets on the Carrboro countryside and the candles cast their romantic glow, you'll be forgiven for imagining you're in "Paris," after all.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very. Good visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

As always the lobster roll was outstanding and of course the wine list incredible

I will be sure to go there again

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been to Glasshalfull twice now, both times for lunch, and I have not been disappointed. It's a wonderful space, with outdoor seating, covered or not, beautiful plants all around. Service is fast, friendly, and impeccable. I had the mini Lobster rolls the first time, with the chocolate mousse cup for dessert accompanied by a glass of Mazzolino “Terrazze” pinot nero (pinot noir) 2011 Italy, which made for a lovely lunch. The second visit I had the Ceasar salad with grilled shrimp and the mini lobster rolls; it made for a filling meal, and both were delicious. I haven't been for dinner yet, but plan to do so soon. I highly recommend this establishment for a comfortable, relaxing, and delicious lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A happy celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visiting this restaurant to celebrate UNC CH Commencement 2014, we were not disappointed with the ambiance or indeed the food. The beef tenderloin was fantastic; the lemon cheesecake divine and the service was excellent - so no complaints at all about the food. I understand why someone is suggesting portions are on the small side but I saw this as a plus ie we did not leave feeling uncomfortably full, rather well nurtured and well nourished with good quality food, excellent service at a good price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing - very small portions ah high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great ambiance and wine, but small tapas sized portions at main prices left you disappointed. Go for drinks and maybe eat before you visit?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good on all counts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Six of us had dinner there and we all were very pleased. The ambiance, service and food were all first rate. As a starter we all shared a few plates of the very excellent Frito Misto, which is a staple. The beet salad was also very good as were the hand cut fries and fried Brussels sprouts. As for the entrees, the scallops were perfect as was the skirt steak. I had the pork belly which was very good but a little too fatty. The wine list is half full, but there is enough choice to satisfy all tastes. A good time was had by all, and I would certainly go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasshalfull also viewed

 

Been to Glasshalfull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasshalfull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.