We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love love love surfside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Lodge Oceanfront to your Saves list
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“love love love surfside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

its the best place its not the top hotel to book but i love it i go every year in september and stay a week and brenda and janet are the best ive been staying here every year that the hotel that was across the street closed that was run by my grand mother ive been raised at carolina beach and found a welcomeing family here at surfside

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to do a review. We appreciate your kind comments on our management and staff. It's great to read about the memories and history of our hotel. Thank you for being such a loyal guest! Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    12
    14
    25
See reviews for
54
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had put 600 dollars down for a three day weekend and it was just not worth it at all - we walked in and walked right back out and got our money back. the pictures did not represent the poor quality of the place. I was very upset that they have the audacity to charge so much for such poor quality. If the place was priced 100/night we still wouldnt have stayed, but that's probably what it is worth. Dont take your lover here

Room Tip: if youre going on vacation, spend a little extra money and go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Not sure how to answer this review but I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We hope as we continue to find the capital to make upgrades you might give the Surfside Lodge a second chance next year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My girlfriends and I have been going to surfside for the past 9 years, and we love it, Brenda and the staff always makes us feel welcome, we have meet some wonderful people and made some new friends , we will keep going every year that we are able and our place to stay away from home will be our second home surfside and to be with our family away from home/

Room Tip: either room 15 or 20 aree very good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Love to hear that Brenda and the staff always make you feel welcome. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again next year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just stayed one night this week. We came at the last minute to join my brother and his family during their week vacation. Fortunately for us they had one room available and it was right under my brother's room. When I went to open my room door I immediately noticed that it looked like at one point the door had been kicked in. The door had not been replaced but everything that was broke was just screwed back together. When I opened the door and looked around I noticed the dark stains on the comforters and when I pulled back the sheets I noticed stains on the sheets and hairs were embedded in the bedding. There were stains all over the carpets. The TV sat on top of the refrigerator. That did not seem safe to me. There was a large hole in the kitchen cabinet and a large hole in the shower wall. The bathroom walls had dirty streaks that ran all down the walls as if someone had peed on it and it was never cleaned. When it was time for bed I became aware that the doors in the hallway that led to outside were left open all night long. So people randomly walking down the street could stroll into the place and could try and break into your room. Not very comforting. I am female with 3 little girls. I stayed by myself with a chair jacked up against my door terrified. I also had a hard time going to sleep because I would not get under the covers (they were covered in stains). I finally dosed off at some point only to be awakened at 5:45 when the trash truck came and I couldn't go back to sleep. I think if you rate this place as a best place to stay then where you stay must be nastier than this one. I smelled cigarettes all night long. Between the odor of the hotel and the smoke smell I had to wash and scrub down everything I took. We paid $200 for one horrible night. The only reason I stayed was for my brother and his family. Will never happen again. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND EVER!

Room Tip: There was no good oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
So sorry that our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We just took over the property last year and used all of the capital we could to do the upgrades we could afford at the time. We have allotted more money to do additional upgrades in the off season. Thank you for your review, even the tough ones will help us to determine what our greatest needs are. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The room had an awful odor. I think it is mildew and they try to mask it with some sort of air freshener that is sickeningly sweet. I noticed my hair smelled like mildew when we were on our way home and so did our canvas suitcases. If you like to see yourself in the mirror while blowdrying or flat ironing your hair, good luck with that. There are NO electric outlets in the bathroom. The outlet I had to use to try to be close to the mirror on the dresser required having to move the mattress back, still I couldn't even stand in front of the mirror on the dresser, so I ended up doing my hair without the use of a mirror. Couldn't get hot water in the mornings when most people are showering...in the late afternoon, hot water was available. The beds were so hard, like sleeping on the ground and our hips were sore in the mornings. The room had a stove, fridge, and kitchen sink (which we didn't request or need) and the stove was rusty and the whole room had a dirty feel to it. The TV is a 19" old fashioned TV and sits on top of the fridge so you have to crane your neck to see it, unless you are laying down in bed. With tax, it was just shy of $300.00 for 3 nights in pre-season...way too much for this hotel. The hotel is very old, which would not be a problem if some updating and ozoning were done. Honestly, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
So sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do plan upgrades in the off season. We took over the hotel last year and have made upgrades and plan to do more this upcoming off season. We appreciate you comments and review as we will do our best to find ways to improve the hotel. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I always stay at Surfside when we visit Carolina beach. The staff is so friendly and very accommodating. I applaud Brenda the manager and Janet for all their hard work. The location is great. Sometimes we don't even move our vehicle once we arrive since everything is in walking distance. We have stayed here for many years and will continue to stay for many more. If you are looking for a great place to stay check in at Surfside and see for yourself what a great place it is! I highly recommend it to everyone who is looking for a nice, clean place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the great comments on the hotel and Brenda and Janet. They do work extremely hard as well as the entire staff. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creedmoor, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We book yearly in May for our group from Creedmoor, NC. This year we had a wedding surf side and had about 17+ rooms booked. All our group was pleased with everything. Thank you Surfside Staff for another wonderful trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the great response. So glad your wedding party enjoyed their stay and we hope that you will come back for years to come. Congrats!! Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.