We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good "Mom & Pop" beach stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Lodge Oceanfront to your Saves list
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good "Mom & Pop" beach stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you're looking for something fancy, then Surfside is NOT for you. If you're looking for a basic room with a great view, a friendly management and housekeeping staff, easy access to the beach, and within walking distance to the boardwalk...book here.

They have done some remodeling, and while it looks better, it's mostly cosmetic. The bathrooms are out of date, some showers need MAJOR work, and a few of the balcony rails are wobbly (but newly painted). But the rates are reasonable, and the location makes it easy to overlook the "negative" things.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I believe it was very fair. We have started to work on the bathrooms and you should see a big improvement on your next visit. We have started to bring in our painting crews to address the entire property. I appreciate your comments on our management, staff and cleanliness. It is truly appreciated. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    12
    14
    25
See reviews for
54
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Surfside. The room was spotless.(Thank you Marie).It was close to everything. We stayed a week and didn't move the car. The restaurants were delicious. Loved the marina being across the street. The Taco Stand right there was so good. We will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Marie and our housekeeping staff work extremely hard. I know she will appreciate your review. Our property does put you near so many things to walk to. We are glad you were able to experience so much during your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

DIRTY ROOMS. The shower head and handle are coverrd with mildew. Everything in the room is broken or missing. The kitchen had a few plastic forks and nothing else. We paid extra for the kitchen and two bedrooms, one of which is just a bed in the kitchen. The staff lied and said you could see the ocean. Never again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We apologize for the stay you just experienced. I hope you had a chance to address your issues with our management. I will be personnaly speaking to our staff to determine what happened with your room. I apologize if anyone mislead you with the oceanview. We are directly on the ocean but the only rooms that truly have the view are on the front side of the hotel and on the second floor. This is the case for most of the properties our size on the island due to the size of the dunes in front our hotels. Again, I truly apologize for your stay. Please feel free to call the hotel and ask for my personal number and I would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you for taking time to review us and please know that we will continue to improve our overall processes and standards. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great place to stay,i bring my family a couple times a year and stay here every time.The staff is great,easy access to beach,two pools and so close to the boardwalk.Rates are reasonable and great parking.Once there u really have no need to drive,everything is so close.I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words about our property. We do have a great location which puts you within walking distance of so many things to do. Again, thank you for taking time to review our property and we look forward to your next visit. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family stayed at the Surfside Lodge in August 2012. We were lucky to find such a great place ! Nice, clean rooms. great staff. Walking distance to all that my family needed to have a great get away ! Oceanfront and two pools,,what more can you ask for ? The Surfside reminds you of what a Beach Motel is supposed to be !

Cannot wait to stay again !

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra for the Ocean Front,,,,the view from the balcony alone is worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are definitely a Beach Motel and proud of how we treat people and how we try to give every guest a great experience. When we receive reviews like this it really encourages the staff to do better. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Surfside Motor Lodge at Carolina Beach. Great location. In walking distance of restaurants, boardwalk, and nightlife. Extrememly friendly staff. Great parking and good price. I hope to stay there again on our next beach trip. Big room and big bathroom. You won't regret your stay.

Room Tip: Great view if you get an oceanfront room. No elevator so you will have to walk up some stairs but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the surfside motor lodge. The people working there were really nice to us and made our stay that much more enjoyable. We liked the clean swimming pools and easy access to the beach. It is also very close to the boardwalk so you can walk instead of driving. We will definitely will be coming back our next trip to the beach. Thank you all for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are the best if you like to sit and watch the waves from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.