We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hide-away retreat in the Beach towns...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A hide-away retreat in the Beach towns...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Don't overlook the pleasures of being this close to the beach and to be able to have plentiful parking (for guests) so close to your room. We loved every bit of the stay. Mike and the staff went out of their way to answer questions, although to be honest, they covered just about everything in their literature and arrival chat.

They are doing it RIGHT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    43
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
111
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our host was very friendly and worked with us for an early check-in. The Beacon House was comfortable, relaxed and very clean. Although the inn is not on the waterfront, it is just a short distance away and we had easy access to the beach each day. Mike, the host, is friendly and engaging as well as being an excellent cook. The location is also convenient to restaurants and nightlife, but is safely removed from the noisy, busy area of Carolina Beach.

One small suggestion: we appreciated their having the coffee out early, but would have preferred breakfast a little earlier than 9 AM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My first stay, but it won't be the last. Our friends had invited us to join them, as they always had a good experience; it was a wonderful and relaxing experience for us as well. The rooms are appealing and cozy, the location is ideal and close to beach, restaurants and shopping. The breakfast is 5 stars; every morning was a highlight of our stay. The innkeeper is wam, friendly and most accommodating. We look forward to booking the next vacation in such a delightful B & B.

Room Tip: I think the first floor is more desirable, as it gives you an opportunity to meet with other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were delighted again with our second trip back to Beacon House Inn! Charlotte and Noah are incredibly welcoming and accomodating to ensure that your stay is all that you'd like it to be. The rooms are very clean and cozy with comfortable bedding, the breakfast is outstanding, the patrons are friendly and the beach is a hop, skip and jump. I love that the location is in the residential area, but close enough for a nice evening walk along the quiet beach or to Britt's Donuts. I won't stay anywhere but the Beacon House Inn when visiting Carolina Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beach, then you have to stay at The Beacon House Inn! My husband and I just returned from our 2nd visit there and we are in love with the B&B! It is like a home away from home - fresh linens/towels, comfortable beds, amazing b-fast, friendly people, beautiful beach....be sure to check out the whirlpool room! Charlotte and Noah take care of all of your needs and make you feel right at home! THe BHI is located close to some great restaurants and is a short ferry ride to Southport or a car ride away from Wilmington. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Whirlpool room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary. We were greeted at the door and the innkeeper spent several minutes talking to us about the house and his family. We felt welcomed. The breakfast was amazing! He cooked potato waffles and we started with homemade cinnamon rolls. I was dying to ask for more of the cinnamon rolls! :) The location is excellent. We simply walked along a short path to the beach. Our room was quaint with a small tv, but who needs a tv at a bed and breakfast, anyway? :) We had a hot tub in our room! We also had an amazing shower with 6 heads!!!! I wanted to take that entire shower home with me. The ONLY complaint I have is the dirty carpet in the room. I really wish the floors were bare like the main floors in the house. The carpet was pretty dirty and made me a little uncomfortable. My hope is that this is changed soon because I would love to go back! I think I might ask the innkeeper about the carpet before booking, though. Other than that, we were first time bed and breakfasters and we were pleased overall.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconHouseInnkeeper, Owner at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay! We do apologize for the carpet and it was deep cleaned promptly after. We have several carpets scheduled to be replaced during the off season this year, and the Whirlpool Suite is one of them. You should find it much newer when you return. It's always better when you can bring these things to our attention during your stay so that we may address them properly while you are still on-site. We could have moved you to another room or had them cleaned while you were out, had we known. We did want you to know the problem was addressed and hope you can find time to come back and enjoy Charlotte's amazing cooking again! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Beacon House at least 5 or 6 times in the last couple of years. It is a short trip from Raleigh for a nice weekend at the beach. We have enjoyed it, but it did need some improvments as stated by previous reviews. The new inn keepers, Charlotte and Noah have done just that! It is freshly painted, neat and clean, and well organized. The house is more open and airy than in the past. There is new outdoor carpeting on the covered upper porch with rocking chairs to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning. The breakfast prepared by Charlotte is out standing. And they accomodating to any food allergies their guests may have. There are several small refridgerators with wine glasses and openers located both downstairs and upstairs for the guests to use. They provide beach towels and sunscreen . The beach is right across the street. We truly enjoyed our stay and will return. My guess is that we will continue to see improvements , since Charlotte and Noah have only been there one year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pineapple room. It is one of two that have a television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the beach, this vintage 1950's boarding house has been converted into a distinctively casual bed and breakfast that specializes in warm hospitality, unique accommodations and artisan breakfasts served with gourmet coffee. The décor features tongue-in-groove original pine board walls, vintage photographs and memorabilia blended with modern amenities. The Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast also features an on-site massage therapy room and packages that range from romance to spa and yoga. Seasonal specials are also available. Traveling with your furry friend or small children? Two cozy two-bedroom vacation cottages are available for visitors with pets and/or children and are located directly behind the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House Inn b&b
Beacon House Hotel Carolina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.