We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, okay service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deck House

Deck House
205 Charlotte Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5121
910-458-1026
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, okay service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Enjoyed our meal but the service was very "casual." Grouper chowder was VERY good as was their filet mignon with bleu cheese.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Dawn G., Happy New Year! Thanks for taking a few moments to sit down and write about your dinner with us at Deck House Casual Dining. We are so happy that you loved our Grouper Chowder, it's been a staple of our restaurant for many years! I would be very interested in hearing your thoughts on what would have made your experience with our service better. We do use these reviews as ways to keep ourselves developing better as a restaurant, but vague descriptions leave us scratching our heads in a way. We really do wish to wow you on every level. If you decide to visit again, I do hope you'll ask for me, I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you again, Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    76
    28
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The BEST place at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went there for our "nice" dinner out at the beach, and, it was so good we went back a second time! The menu was nicely varied with something for everyone, even the picky eater! The crab dip is a MUST, the grouper was amazing, as was the filet, pasta with seafood and chicken. A must do on vacation!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Katie A., Thank you so much for giving us not just one, but TWO visits! Getting food, drink and service right is always our goal so we can bring people back in for return dinners. Thanks for giving so many different items a try! We look forward to having you back in The Deck House for many more visits. I would love to meet you all to welcome you back, so please feel free to ask for me by name. Thank you again for your patronage and your review! -Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

very nice atmosphere but food was just ok and prices were kind of steep . Probably wouldnt go back if we visit again

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear pdq724, Thanks for your time in our restaurant and your review. I'm sorry to hear that what you tried on the menu did not make a lasting impression on you. It is always our hope that guests love whatever they tried on our menu. Sorry to hear that you won't be back as we have such a large selection of other menu items that very well may make your taste buds tingle! If you do give us a second change, feel free to ask for me by name, and I'd love to be a part of your dining experience to help take your experience from 'just ok' to 'outstanding'. We hope you have a very Happy New Year! -Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best seafood in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a couple of false starts on dinners in Carolina beach and finally found this place. The waitress and hostess were very attentive and professional. But more important the food was excellent. I suggest the grouper or flounder. My wife went non seafood one night and had the sirloin which was better than expected from a fish house.
Good place in a neat old restaurant that I think was a church.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
alfadrvr, Thank you so very much for taking a few moments to sit down and write about your dinner here at The Deck House. I'm so happy to hear that our staff took great care of you and that the food was great. Even though we are mostly known for seafood, we do our best to make sure that anything we offer is great. Thank you for dining with us, and we hope to have you back again for dinner! Victoria F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved this restaurant. The atmosphere was very nice because
it's in an old church and has a nice
nautical theme. The service was very good. And the food was delicious!
We would definitely go again. It was a great experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
michelewave04 Thank you for your review of our restaurant. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here. We strive to bring great food and great service to every guest. And I do hope that we will have you back in for dinner with us soon. Thank you again, Victoria F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deck House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.