We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hushpuppies...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Seafood Restaurant

Michael's Seafood Restaurant
1206 N. Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC
(910) 458-7761
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Archdale, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No hushpuppies...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

As many times as I'd been to Carolina beach I'd never been to Michael's. It was recommended to me by a friend when i mentioned I wanted steamed oysters. Although the service was great and it was a very nice restaurant, it wasn't what I expected. I didnt know until we were there that they don't fry anything. So that meant no hushpuppies with my oysters. I was really looking forward to that! The mini crab cakes weren't very good. The shrimp and grits were pretty tasty. Maybe I should give it another try but as for now I'm not very impressed

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    95
    58
    35
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very enjoyable dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We ate this past weekend at Michaels Seafood in Carolina Beach. Food was very good and creative. I would also say fresh. Service was excellent. Really like the atmosphere. Will definitely go back. The shrimp and grit cake are delicious. Also they have fabulous chicken salad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing dining experience and wonderful waiters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The food was simply wonderful and cooked to perfection. The waiter was amazing. Very attentive and had an awesome personality. The desserts were simply sinful and portions were generous. I would recommend this establishment to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt olive
1 review
“Less than impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

First time going tonight. Food was average. Ordered a hot dog and hamburger kids meal and my kids couldn't eat it. The hot dog bun was so cold it broke in half when picked up. The kids hamburger was so well done and crispy you could throw it against a brick wall and it wouldn't have broken in pieces. Ordered my kids the pizzas ofthe kids meal after that and on top of that I had to pay for all 4 of the kids orders even though the hot dog and burger were in edible. Eve The waitress waiting tables in our section was slow and obviously not able to handle the five or six tables she was trying to take care of. Between the poorly cooked kid meals and subpar service, we won't ever go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, inventive menu (but not weird)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Loved it. The chowder is rightly famous. One of us got a big ol' pile of peel-and-eat shrimp, which for two bucks more they'll peel them for you (we are not quite that lazy).

The service was attentive and quick, but not intrusive.

The menu is actually kind of inventive, for a beach-town family seafood joint. In addition to standards like bacon-wrapped scallops (amazing), there are interesting variations on shrimp & grits. There are things for non-seafood people too.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.