We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Seafood Restaurant

Michael's Seafood Restaurant
1206 N. Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC
(910) 458-7761
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The place is nice! Colorful and comfortable. Service is also fine. I had a hamburger which was OK, nothing really special about it. Tried something different as the menu said it came with a pesto sauce, goat cheese and roasted red pepper. In fact I could not taste a lot of those ingreadients which was a little disappointing. But it was fine. Cold beer and a good variety of drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    90
    56
    34
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Food was good. Was nervous about going after reading some reviews, but we tried it. The service wasn't that great when we entered. I finally had to stop someone walking by and ask about sitting down ... we came in and NO one even acknowledged us a new customers. Didn't set for a very good tone for the dinner, but again the food was good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Crab and shrimp mac n cheese--oh yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'll just say it: I've eaten a lot of seafood over the years, but the experience my wife and I had at Michael's was one of the best. It started with a very friendly and attentive waitress. In general, my observation of the hostesses, waitresses and servers was that this restaurant has done an excellent job of training their employees.

We shared a bowl of the award-winning seafood chowder for an appetizer and can only add an "amen" to their honors. It is going to be REAL hard to open a can of Progresso clam chowder for lunch now. The combination of seafood and vegetables with the delectable soup was incredible.

My wife ordered the galley sampler with shrimp, scallops and mahi mahi. Everything was cooked perfectly. The garlic mashed potatoes were tasty, but maybe a little heavy on the garlic. Vegetables were cooked to perfection. She said the side of cornbread was more like corn cake with a sweetness to it. That was a compliment as she prefers that type of cornbread. I'm generally not a big fan of sweeter cornbreads, but theirs was very good.

Mac n cheese with shrimp and crab. That just sounded too good to pass up and it lived up to the expectations. They use an interesting five-cheese blend and are generous with the seafood in the mac n cheese bake. Rarely, do I need a take home box, but I could not finish it (probably shouldn't have ordered the "small" dinner salad--it was a big "small"). It was very good and a large portion. Two people can probably share one, especially if they also have an appetizer.

The owner of this restaurant passed away last year, but his wife and family are still churning out outstanding seafood with great service. After reading a little about Michael and his remarkable life, it really completed what was already a top-shelf dining experience. If you get to Carolina Beach, make Michael's your first stop for quality seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great shrimp tacos......Patio dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ate outside on one of the cooler days. The Cajun shrimp tacos were great. It didn't have the cabbage slaw ,which I really don't like. The shrimp were tasty and plentiful. My husband had the oysters. The oysters were cooked in a light batter. Although what we had was fried: nothing was greasy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echelon, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Seafood Restaurant. You must have the chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the third time we have been to Michaels. Excellent seafood. You must have the award winning chowder. Would suggest eating inside. sometimes too hot to eat outside and the flies can be annoying.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Michael's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.