We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Seafood Restaurant

Michael's Seafood Restaurant
1206 N. Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC
(910) 458-7761
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Camden, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Last year when my husband and I came, it was pretty good; but this year- AWFUL! The seafood/clam chowder was delicious, so I recommend ordering a "to go" bag of this anytime you're in town. However, everything else was really bad. I ordered the Snow Cut platter with crab legs and shrimp. The crab legs didn't have any taste- no flavor at all. The shrimp was terrible. Don't get me wrong- the food was fresh and hot - it just didn't have any taste- it was bland. I ate the crab legs anyway but threw away the shrimp. They put alot of seasoning on the shrimp, but all you taste is the seasoning - I don't know what's wrong with the food. My husband got the appetizer plate with crab cakes and oysters, but he didn't eat it either. They must have changed cooks - the food just doesn't taste good. Basically, we spent $70 dollars for 2 people for clam chowder, salad and drinks. We were really disappointed that there was no grilled shrimp, scallops or anything fried. They have a very limited menu. If you go for the first time, make sure to pull up the restaurant menu over the internet first to see your options. I recommend getting the seafood chowder... we don't recommend anything else! We won't be back. (Service was good and food was hot.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    90
    56
    34
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Girl's weekend and a great find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A couple of the girls went to Carolina Beach for the weekend and we decided to stop at Michael's. I've driven by it for years and read good reviews but it always seemed so busy. Now I know why... this place is great!!! I had a mixed platter with flounder, shrimp, scallops and ordered a side of crab cakes... wow, it was all incredible and LOTS of food. We had plenty to share at the table for everyone. I love how they have a wide variety of ways of cooking the seafood as well and not all of them are fried. I realize I'm in the south and calabash is the way of the area but a nice broiled or grilled meal is my personal preference and Michael's definitely delivers!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great seafood.. great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Very good seafood chowder with a recipe that has won prizes at major chowder festivals. The restaurant is well furnished, comfortable and clean.

The wait staff was friendly and helpful!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had dinner here last night, while in town on a business trip. Surprising, being at the beach, I was hard pressed to find a good seafood restaurant for dinner. And after dining here, I am still looking.

I should have known when I arrived that at 6pm, there were only 4 tables of other diners. The wait staff was average, all of them college age co-eds. Not bad service, but nothing over the top to rate it above average.

The "international award winning" chowder was good, but definitely not worth $6.00 a bowl.

I ordered the seafood medley, priced at $19.99, and ended up with a 3 oz portion of mahi, 4 bay scallops, and about 6 small shrimp. Disappointing and not a medley. The scallops were overcooked and the shrimp were bland. The mahi was good but after 2 bites I was wondering where the rest was. The rice served as a side with this dish was straight out of a mexican restaurant. Don't get that one, as I thought I was at a seafood restaurant. The vegetable medley was the best part of my entree. Very fresh and well cooked.

For my $32.00 bill, including tip, I am still in search of a good seafood restaurant in the Carolina Beach area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seafood on Carolina Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is your typical beach style seafood restaurant. We ordered the platter with snow crab legs, mussels, shrimp and oysters. The shrimp were overcooked and the oysters were almost non-existant when opened. the crab legs and mussels were good. Overall I give it a B- rating. The service was fast and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Michael's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.