We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hoot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Pelican The

Fat Pelican The
8 S Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5132
910-458-4061
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a hoot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been coming to Carolina Beach for 20 years and was intrigued but intimidated by the Fat Pelican's appearance. Finally went inside. I LOVE THIS PLACE. It is one-of-a-kind fun, fun, fun. You go into the beer cooler (huge) and select from the hundreds of unique and not-unique brews. This place needs to be experienced if you come to CB.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique bar, Intolerable owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This review will be short and unsweet just like my visit. All I can say is be very careful what you play on the jukebox. I was told by the owner that my choice (on his jukebox) was inappropriate and he would not tolerate any cussing on his premises wherever it comes from. Another patron besides me at the bar, three of us in total, decided like I did to finish our single purchased beer and depart. Unfortunately, I couldn't bite my tongue once we stepped off the premises where this granddad inbred type received a barrage of my thoughts which included many colourful metaphors. He threatened to kick my butt and I replied that if he was twenty years younger, he could have a go. Hence, I was barred and happy for it as I have since found out this type of customer service, from him may I add and not his staff, is the usual treatment received from Mr. Fat Pelican.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Fat Pelican is so much fun. It's very... Unique... And the decor looks out something out of a whacky movie (in a good, entertaining way). They have such a cool concept and the beer selection is vast. While I was expecting a bit larger of a selection, they had quite a bit to choose from. I would definitely recommend making a visit here if you're in the area and looking for a chill place to have a cold one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Characters Allowed Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

One of my favorite bars ever. Great selection of beers in the reefer attached to the back or cheapo tall boys of PBR. To fit in you must have a little character and a good story. Enjoyed it every time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best beer selection around...hundreds of em”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a real CB experience. Walk into their fully stacked huge coolers and select from some of the most unusual beers stocked. Then take your beer outside around the fire pit and hang out for a fun night!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Pelican The also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Fat Pelican The? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Pelican The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.