We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to try it once just because it looks so festive... not horrible but not worth going back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Pirate Sports Bar and Grill

The Lazy Pirate Sports Bar and Grill
701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had to try it once just because it looks so festive... not horrible but not worth going back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Had some lunch. Everything was just about average except the service was very good, although it isnt difficult to get good service during lunch no matter where you go. Slightly pricey compared to similar menu items in the area. I sent back my kids fish fingers for tasting over fishy. The big reason i won't be going back is that the place was LOADED with flies!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    19
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Live band a nice touch and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

One in our group got the flounder, good but lots of breading. Buffalo chicken was good too. There was a band and they were good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I go to this place every time I visit CB (which is a few times every summer) The lazy pirate is a MUST on our list every time. The food is great, the atmosphere is awesome. It's so cute and fun. With volleyball, cornhole, live bands, great staff, etc... we LOVE The Lazy Pirate! Can't wait to go back again and again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had 4 different servers. When served buffalo wings we weren't given plates or a single napkin. By the time they came wings were already cold. Potatoes were hard, raw. Crab legs came in a bucket that was so high off the table you couldn't see the bottom. If you're going for just a beer I guess it would be fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges; reminded me of bars from my college days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Not bad atmosphere if you're simply looking for drinks and playing outdoor corn hole or sand volleyball in a party environment. However, that being said, we went here with another couple and decided not to stay. Slow service...and we were just looking to have drinks! Guess in our 40s we looked to "old" to want to kick back and enjoy the evening. Reminded me of a bar from my college days...definitely geared towards the younger party crowd. I would not recommend bringing kids for a meal...unless it's earlier in the day. Was hoping the reviews I read were wrong...but they were definitely on target. We will not go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Pirate Sports Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Pirate Sports Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Pirate Sports Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.