We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hang Ten Grill

Hang Ten Grill
308 S. Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC
910-458-5959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's a nice little place, but get ready to climb a set of stairs to get to it. It's located right next to Carolina Beach's Lake Park, so it's a cool place to go before the annual Christmas Parade that happens the first Friday night in December. It's also a nice place to go after you've been at the Saturday morning Farmer's Market at the lake from May to August. Their food (sandwiches, burgers, fries, etc.) is really good. It's kind of a little hole in the wall, but it's a nice hole in the wall.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    61
    20
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average meal, servers not very friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant with a group of 17, waitresses were not very friendly, complained about everything when we tried to make it easier (dividing checks, who was on which check-before ordering, etc) waitresses response was: "Nothing will make it any easier for us"
Well....OK then, so orders were placed, service getting the food out was kind of slow, but managable, again upon delivery of food, waitress wasn't very friendly, just sat down the food and left, didn't check to see if we needed anything else, seemed annoyed when asked for refills on drinks.
Food was average (had the shrimp & clam basket, daughter had shrimp burger which she said was great) everyone seemed to think the meal was just OK, mostly because of the sour disposition of the waitress...
I would give them another chance, just because I liked the atmosphere but hopefully will get a different waitress next time. Would try a burger next time instead of the seafood but since I was at the beach I was ready for seafood, the burgers looked really good. Fresh handcut chips were great, a friend with us said the handcut fries were a little too seasoned. Give it a try, you may find just what you are looking for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was exactly what we needed for a large family. Lots of variety/choices, great value, and sports tv on for some kiddo distraction. A few decent beers on tap. Burgers were juicy and delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't go for breakfast!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We walked in at 10:00 am and got a table right away. The bus girl took our drink order and brought them back promptly. That was the end of the good service. About 20 minutes later, our server came to our table after taking 3 groups of people's orders who had gotten here after us. Her first comment to us was "the kitchen is backed up....I hope you don't have plans to be anywhere anytime soon". Wow. We should have left right then. 30 minutes later we had to go feed the parking meter since our food was still not out yet. 45 minutes later our food finally arrived. Mediocre....at best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OMG Chicken Wrap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you go to Carolina Beach please go to Hang Ten and have one of their Chicken Philly Wraps....It's has got to be one of the best I have ever eaten. I am 53 years old and I eat a lot of chicken and this was so delicious. I totally recommend it with their homemade French Fries, I assure you, you won't be disappointed. The absolute best. I am going back to Carolina Beach in a couple of weeks and I will be stopping by Hang Ten again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hang Ten Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hang Ten Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hang Ten Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.