We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Burgers Sandwiches and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hang Ten Grill

Hang Ten Grill
308 S. Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC
910-458-5959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Carolina Beach, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers Sandwiches and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I am a regular at Hang Ten and have tried most everything on the menu. The Reuben is tops as are the fish and chips. I also like the burger selection. Great service!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    61
    20
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you got all day!!! #terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We arrived at 10:15am and placed a breakfast TO GO ORDER. At 11:00am we STILL had not received our food. When we inquired about it we were told "just a couple more minutes, just because your order was to go didn't give it priority!" We then witnessed the manager, who charged me for a drink after I had already paid for food and had been waiting 30 mins at this point, brag to fellow employees about having a fully stocked beer cooler by saying "see what happens when I'm the manager". First of all, it was SUNDAY and u can't serve until 12:00, second of all when your restaurant is full and all but 3 tables are waiting on food, GO TO THE KITCHEN AND HELP, manager!!! Upon talking with a table that had also been there for an hr we were told by a server that we were "hurting their feelings because they didn't have a big grill and were doing the best they could do." Then don't have more tables than you can feed in a timely manner. And again folks this was EGGS AND BACON for crying out loud! 1hr and 15 minutes later we received our food and this was the time for EVERYONE. #ridiculous #dontdoit #willnevergetanotherdimefromme

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Burgers...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great burgers and fries! Wonderful soft shell crab sandwiches, too! Nice upper deck for outside dining. It's a bar/restaurant. Comfortable, casual.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Don't waste your time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stopped in around 7:30 for dinner. Saw all the good reviews and nice looking restaurant so we were looking forward to it. Ordered an app and that was ok. Then we ordered a burger and club sandwich. The burger was waaay undercooked (even for my husband who like his food medium rare). My food was not even what I ordered. It was a turkey panini with avocado on it. Not to mention we waited a good 40 mins for our food. It's was too pricey. Definitely not worth the $40. The staff was nice, I guess that was the only positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“BEST EVER WINGS! Amazing and gosh darn good bbq”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have traveled to NY- and so many places and tried wings at every one. Experimented with
combos of sauce and different ways of cooking to find the ultimate wing experience. Hands down
these are the VERY BEST- a flavor that had no competition. Having these at a catered event I cant imagine what they are like right at the restaurant. We were told the sauce has 26 hours in slow cooking and prep work- the flavor has such a contrast in sweet/heat i dont know if you could achieve this quality with a short cut-certainly not a bottle taste of high fructose glop from a plastic bottle. The first sauce we have experienced that really has a front taste and a back flavor that comes through with each bite. Perfection in cooking method. If you love wings you owe it to yourself to try these. As for the bbq yummo! another unique wood smoked flavor. Zero fat found "woohooo" real meat with chunky pieces and not from a order restaurant quality and reheat like some commercial restaurant. Slaw very good. Con: the bbq and wings were so good the bread was just not a super star- would have loved the option of a cornbread muffin or hushpuppies-but that is being super critical and just sayin::: this place is good. the other con: not in our city but worth the trip for sure. For those who are traveling and want to try out some of the great meal adventures- I would suggest stopping here for sure and then go up the board walk and have a britts doughnut. Reviewed by many critics as the *2 nd best doughnut in the country- only rival is in N Orleans. We have been to Carolina beach and all the surrounding areas many times. These two are def A list food attractions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hang Ten Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hang Ten Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hang Ten Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.