We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not honor confirmed online reservation request” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   907 North Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Toledo OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“could not honor confirmed online reservation request”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I specifically needed a room with 2 queen beds and had a confirmed reservation for this, but on check-in I discovered that I was given a "suite" with 1 bed and a sleeper sofa. I was travelling with my grandkids who needed more space than a full size sleeper sofa but there were no more rooms at this hotel or any other for the price. I was told that the online reservation system doesn't know what the hotel has so it is not reliable. The staff at this location brought up a rollaway which meant me rearranging furniture to get it set up, but they tried. Would recommend calling the hotel directly before confirming reservation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    88
    43
    36
See reviews for
160
78
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Due to the sudden illness of a family member, we had to find a place to stay overnight. We called Microtel and were told to "come right over." The rate was unbelievably reasonable, the room was clean and spacious, and breakfast was included. We checked out the next AM. Later in the day, we decided to stay another night, so we asked if we could have the same room at the same rate and were told we could. We highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I'm sad to write a less than satisfactory review as the staff who work there are very nice. What I liked about the rooms was (1) nice bed linens, (2) shower heads are high enough for NBA players and (3) towel rack in bathroom was immediately in front of tub, so reaching for towel was as easy as opening shower curtain and grabbing a towel. What I didn't like about room: (1) No hair dryer. We had to go to the front desk to get one. (2) no lamps. There are only 2 light switches in the room. One for the room just as you walk in and one for the bathroom. That's it. No lamps at all. Nothing bedside. Take a flashlight if you have to get up in the middle of the night. Take a personal reading lamp if you want to read. And since there's only one switch for overhead lighting you would think it includes something in the center of the room, but it doesn't. It's all on the side of the room between the foot of the beds and the dresser. (3) the wall of the room on the headboards side of the room is all mirror. Ugh! (4) We stayed there New Year's Eve (worked for one of the events - not partying) and the hotel offers free continental breakfast, but only until 9:30. Most hotels offer extended hour or so for that on New Year's Day. Would have also been nice to have had an additional hour before checkout time, especially since there's not much demand for rooms at the beach this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This motel was the 4th Microtel we stayed at during a two-week, multi-state, historic siteseeing tour, and it was very, very pleasant. It is a block or two from the Atlantic Ocean for those who like the beach. We stayed mainly as a stopping point after leaving historic New Bern earlier in the day and wanting a good starting place to visit the Revolutionary War-related Moores Creek Historic Battlefield about 45 minutes to the north. The motel was very, very clean, safe and cost friendly. All in all, with a very friendly staff, it was a beautiful experience. Don't leave the area without stopping at Britt's Donuts, a famous old shop about a block or two toward the ocean. The donuts are unlike any you've ever tasted. With this Microtel, as has been the case with most Microtels we've stayed at, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had to book here last minute thanks to the Beach house inn and suites....they cancelled our reservation! HOWEVER we had to book the microtel 10 days prior to arrival and I must say they were WONDERFUL! everyone was so kind and helpful to everyone in our family! the pool area was nice everything was VERY clean and neat in order! Our little girl even left her Nintendo DS and they mailed to us the day we left!
would advise ANYONE to stay here! u will be happy! very close to the beach not walking distance really but still great! u cant beat the price either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

My friend and I stayed for only one night, but found the room to clean, smallish and comfortable. After spending a day on the beach, we had no need for an oceanview, so we took the money we saved and went into Wilmington for a great meal. Breakfast was simple and easy. Great, if you are on a budget, and you get more than you pay for. A no frills hotel clean, safe and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I made reservations online 10 days in advance .Only to find upon my arrival was told my reservations was somehow cancaled ,not by me .the orinal reservation was found and received a prompt apology.not only was there`not a room for me but the standard queen room we requested was not avalible in none smoking only in smoking .after telling of our desire not to have a smoking room we were given a non smoking queen suite at no added charge to me !!! we were`told to stay in the suite for our stay at the standerd rate . the room was super clean .,hotel staff super freindly .we will be back with our whole family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Address: 907 North Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a clean and comfortable hotel with 59 beautifully-appointed rooms, the Microtel Inn in Carolina Beach, NC, goes the extra mile to provide modern conveniences to make your stay extra pleasant. Enjoy cable TV , refrigerators in most rooms, microwaves in our suites, work desk, phone with data port and complimentary high-speed Internet access.Choose from three types of comfortable accommodations-Single Room, Double Room or Suite. Enjoy our exceptional location that puts you just a 5 block walk from the beach, a short drive to historic downtown Wilmington, Wilmington International Airport and have the Fort Fisher Ferry nearby if you are going South. We are also located just an hour south of Camp Lejeune. Everything you need for your business trip or vacation with the luxury of being on Pleasure Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Microtel Inn And Suites Carolina Beach
Microtel Carolina Beach
Microtel Hotel Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.