We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   907 North Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I was a little leery of this place after seeing a few of the reviews. Place was pretty clean (considering it is at the beach) and all staff members were exceedingly helpful and very friendly. I would have no qualms about staying here again. I don't see where they said it was walking distance to beach althought I saw someone remark about it earlier.It is not walking distance. Continental breakfast is OK. Could use some fruit or yogurt but not bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    103
    88
    43
    36
See reviews for
161
78
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Sale,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I have stayed at this property many times but had decided not to return due to the manager. When I arrived, I was pleased to find out that it is under new management.
Sheryl Robertson is always amazing. So glad for the the changes. I will be back. It is
a great place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I was not sure about staying at this Hotel because of some of the reveiws, but my niece had stayed her two times in the past two years and told me it was nice. Well Iam so glad I listened to her because the place was very clean, the staff was outstanding, loved the pool, the beds were pillow top with nice and comfortable beding, and it is walking distance to the beach and all of the restaurants. (about 3 blocks). We stayed on the third floor and the maid was outstanding. One day my daughter was sick and did not leave the room all day the maid still cleaned our room, then the next day we came back to the room when she was cleaning and she was changing tne beding on my daughters bed. she told us that because my daughter was sick the day before she wanted to give her clean sheets and blankets. ( that was the day before we checked out). I was very impressed. This is not a 5 star Hotel but the service was very very good, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I am a very pickie person and I was happy..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was told one price when I made the reservation for two rooms. I was told one total and asked several times for the person on the phone to repeat the total so I could write it down and be sure. I was also told there would be a confirmation email, which I never received. Upon check in, the rooms had not been cleaned yet, so we had to wait. The total also came up to twice what I was told it would be, and we were charged extra for more than one person staying in a double room. How can you assume only one person is staying in a double room? I was not asked how many people were in my party and I was not told there would be extra charges. The total was twice what I was told over the phone, plus the extra charges. The manager was extremely rude despite my attempts to politely ask what went wrong. I was told I could stay and accept the situation or leave. "You can stay or you can leave right now." I was also told that I was responsible for knowing the correct prices and knowing about the extra charges. The manager said "You must not travel much." I do travel. A lot. I've been a military dependent for 21 years, as have the people with me. That means we travel much more than the vast majority of people, and have stayed in numerous hotels all over the country and overseas. The wifi (advertised and charged for) was not functioning either, and the manager could not fix it. After being treated horribly, we moved to a different hotel, but spent an hour with the manager telling us that all of our banks were "rejecting" our refunds. After calling my bank, I learned she never attempted to refund us. We were lied to and the manager attempted to charge us double, and then not refund us.

Cleanliness is not a strong suit of this hotel either, even the lobby was unclean not to mention the rooms. Also overheard manager telling other patrons that the rooms they wanted were taken (by me and my party) but that they could have the rooms next door for half price, and that the rooms I rented were faulty (bathroom issues) anyway.

Needless to say this was the worst experience I have ever had and I will not return. I recommend everyone look elsewhere. I have never been treated worse at any establishment in my life. And the entire party was made up of soldiers, spouses and children of soldiers. Wonderful way to show appreciation for the troops. Vacation was totally ruined.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I travel all over in my line of work. I enjoy staying at this location but the Manager, Sue Williamson is the worse employee there. She has no respect for her employees or guests. Her rudeness was not directed at me but other guests. Her attire was almost comical. I sat in the breakfast area and watched as this person rant and raved.
This is a very nice property with great potential but not with this manager.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

They tried -- they really did! But this is a sad excuse for a holiday place.
The carpets have all been replaced, the scary yellow paint is new, and it's a totally non-smoking facility. The innkeepers were incredibly friendly but I could hardly wait to leave!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

You definitely get what you paid for. I was staying with friends for the weekend but when I had to unexpectedly stay an extra night I opted for a hotel (well motel) b/c my friend's place was rather nasty. But this was decent, very close to the beach, the staff was friendly and I enjoyed my stay. The breakfast wasn't all that, but whatever. I will say that there was a dirty washcloth in the bathroom in my room that I made them come and retrieve, so that was kind of gross. It wasn't the best, but it wasn't bad overall.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Address: 907 North Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a clean and comfortable hotel with 59 beautifully-appointed rooms, the Microtel Inn in Carolina Beach, NC, goes the extra mile to provide modern conveniences to make your stay extra pleasant. Enjoy cable TV , refrigerators in most rooms, microwaves in our suites, work desk, phone with data port and complimentary high-speed Internet access.Choose from three types of comfortable accommodations-Single Room, Double Room or Suite. Enjoy our exceptional location that puts you just a 5 block walk from the beach, a short drive to historic downtown Wilmington, Wilmington International Airport and have the Fort Fisher Ferry nearby if you are going South. We are also located just an hour south of Camp Lejeune. Everything you need for your business trip or vacation with the luxury of being on Pleasure Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Microtel Inn And Suites Carolina Beach
Microtel Carolina Beach
Microtel Hotel Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.