We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People stayed longer,Microltel caneled my Reserved Room!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   907 North Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Lake Jackson, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“People stayed longer,Microltel caneled my Reserved Room!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

On October 13th I made a room reservation for Nov 8,9,10 to stay at this hotel with my husband and grandson.We were keeping him for the weekend while his parents had their own weekend... my daughter's husband,who is a Marine, had just come home from Iraq. Upon the day of arrival, I called the hotel about midafternoon, twenty minutes from the hotel to get the exact exit location. Sue, the General Manager answered the phone and told me that I no longer had the guaranteed non smoking room because someone had decided to stay longer and they didn't know when I made the reservation, that a group of 4th grade students would be staying. I have never experienced this in any of my travels. I believe it is normal policy for a hotel to tell the prior guest, that someone else has the room reserved...otherwise it doesn't do you any good to make reservations with " this " hotel. Word of mouth and the internet speak volume's for a business. Shame on Microtel Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    88
    43
    36
See reviews for
160
78
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We spent a week in October at this Microtel. I had out patient surgery in Wilmington. The entire staff couldn't have been nicer! Our room was clean and comfortable. The property and pool area was always kept clean. No, it's not on the beach, but public areas with ample parking a few minutes away. The breakfast area was well stocked and if anything missing, it was quickly replaced. Fresh coffee available 24/7 in the breakfast area. As I have to go back for Drs appts., we will always make our reservations here. They do have wireless internet available.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

The manager at this hotel (Sue) was extremely angry because I got a great rate when I booked my july trip in february. I got a rate of 53 a night for 4 nights. She and the front desk clerk were very rude to me and they actually put an extra day on my reservation and charged me for it. The customer service at corporate is now aware of my situation and is taking care of it for me. The hotel needs newer towels and some happier people at the front desk. This location is not within walkling distance to the beach so dont let anyone tell you different. Stay at the courtyard if you can.

I love Carolina Beach but it needs a big clean up effort down there.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home in WV,SC,TN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

When we arrived we had reserved a 2 beded room. We arrived at our room to discover that it was a king. They were glad to fix their mistake. There is a pond behind the hotel which is full of frogs that croaked all night, and hopped into the pool. The morning buffet was not very large, but was acceptable for the price paid for the room.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Pond with frogs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

The best thing this location had going for it turned her notice in while we visited. On arrival, although a room with two double beds was reserved for 4 people for 3 nights, we were assigned a room with one bed. We called down to the front desk, to let them know of the error only to get an arguement about what the reservation was for. Cornelia at the front desk said Anna booked us for 1 night in a single room. I told her Anna did not make my reservation, Sue did (who I found out happens to be the manager). I finally asked how 4 people were suppose to sleep in one bed and was unhappily assigned a room with 2 beds. The next evening when we returned to "our" room, our cards would not open the door. Again we returned to the front desk, and fortunately were able to talk to Sheryl who had been trying
to figure out who was in room 204 (our room). In their computer upon check-in we had been assigned, billed and checked out of room 205, but our card keys were for 204. While we were out for the day, our room had been rented and other guests had visited our room! Sheryl assured us they promptly returned to the desk informing the staff the
room was already occupied. Sheryl then put a block on any entry to the room until the occupants (us) could be identified. (We had been checked out of room 205 that day) Had it not been for Sheryl and her superb customer service skills, we would have left. The rest of the staff we encountered were not very friendly. On Microtel's behalf, the continental breakfast, especially the waffles were excellent. Rooms were very clean. The main thing Microtel needs to do, is have Sheryl lead a customer service training class for the rest of the staff. KUDOS to Sheryl, and good luck!

  • Liked — Continental Breakfast and pool
  • Disliked — Poor overall customer service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed here last summer and were very happy! The room was clean, staff very polite. The continental breakfast was good and fresh. Pool clean. The price was VERY reasonable. Would happily stay here again!

  • Liked — Price! When compared with accomodations in area, price couldn't be beat!
  • Disliked — Have no complaints!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach

Address: 907 North Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you a clean and comfortable hotel with 59 beautifully-appointed rooms, the Microtel Inn in Carolina Beach, NC, goes the extra mile to provide modern conveniences to make your stay extra pleasant. Enjoy cable TV , refrigerators in most rooms, microwaves in our suites, work desk, phone with data port and complimentary high-speed Internet access.Choose from three types of comfortable accommodations-Single Room, Double Room or Suite. Enjoy our exceptional location that puts you just a 5 block walk from the beach, a short drive to historic downtown Wilmington, Wilmington International Airport and have the Fort Fisher Ferry nearby if you are going South. We are also located just an hour south of Camp Lejeune. Everything you need for your business trip or vacation with the luxury of being on Pleasure Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Hotel Carolina Beach
Microtel Inn And Suites Carolina Beach
Microtel Carolina Beach
Microtel Hotel Carolina Beach
Carolina Beach Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.